Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great! I followed the advice to make sure the beets were thoroughly cooked before pureeing. Very smooth and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Used an entire box of vegetable broth, as I used beets straight from my garden and they were on the large size. Added 1 potato for smoother texture, topped off with yoghurt for a tangy accent to the sweetness of the beets. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Totally yummy. I would add potatoes in future for a thicker soup. Also used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is the most delicious soup i have EVER eaten. i made a few adjustments; I used a large box (32oz) of beef broth, i used 2 golden beets and 4 red beets. i cooked it for a little over an hour. While i was waiting for it to cool so i could put it in the refrigerator i tasted the soup while it was hot, it was delicious. an hour later i decided to eat some more of that great soup this time adding cut up cooked potatoe room temperature. soup was room temperature it was soooo good! an hour later i am wanting some more of that good soup, i eat it this time with a boiled egg. soup is cooler and egg is cold. Absolutely fabulous. At this rate i am not sure i will have any left for my family for dinner tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Delicious, with a sweetness that was delightful. Did not use cream, and it was fine. Took 45 minutes to cook to the consistency for liquification. This was enough for two bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Loved this! Made it vegetarian by using veg broth. If you like beets you will like this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. I skipped the heavy cream to save on calories and it was still awesome. Easy to adjust water content to get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The recipe is not as good as the 100 year old recipe that I found. The broth and homemade noodles are excellent..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yum! This is an easy but delicious recipe. My husband requests this soup specifically. Be sure to chop the beets in small chunks and you will have no problem with cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
What a tasty and healthy recipe! I used homemade chicken stock, instead of beef stock. I also substituted cream with plain yogurt, which turned out to be a great complement to the sweet beet. I tried to slice the beets really thin, but still needed to cook the soup for 40 minutes. You do have to make sure to use a good blender / food processor for this recipe, as the beets might still be a little hard even when cooked through. Considering the ingredients I put in, this is definitely a very healthy delicious recipe. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States