Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. I skipped the heavy cream to save on calories and it was still awesome. Easy to adjust water content to get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The recipe is not as good as the 100 year old recipe that I found. The broth and homemade noodles are excellent..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yum! This is an easy but delicious recipe. My husband requests this soup specifically. Be sure to chop the beets in small chunks and you will have no problem with cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
What a tasty and healthy recipe! I used homemade chicken stock, instead of beef stock. I also substituted cream with plain yogurt, which turned out to be a great complement to the sweet beet. I tried to slice the beets really thin, but still needed to cook the soup for 40 minutes. You do have to make sure to use a good blender / food processor for this recipe, as the beets might still be a little hard even when cooked through. Considering the ingredients I put in, this is definitely a very healthy delicious recipe. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made it with vegetable broth. It is scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
yum! I made this recipe as described, only used vegetable broth to substitute the beef broth, as we are vegetarians. this soup came out fantastic! I also added a hint of dill the cream was the perfect compliment added to the sweetness of the beets. it made the soup! will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Yes, a very tasty recipe. I used quite a bit of pepper to zip it up as well and added fat free half and half to the batch instead of "swirling with cream". Those who find it grainy might not be cooking the beets enough. Cooking time will depend on the size of your chopped beets. I found it to be a smooth soup...not as smooth as "cream of something", but also much more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Amazing soup! I boiled a quartered potato along with the beets to thicken the soup a bit, giving it some more substance. Use veggie stock and this is an amazing vegetarian main dish. Simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIGHTYMOUSE77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I'd skip step #1 and the frying, but not the onion or garlic. I'd grate the onion and garlic into the broth and simmer. I find frying the onion and garlic makes it too strong and oily tasting. As for the beets, love them, but what to do with a 25 pound bag a friend dropped of, I have to use them-up fast. No one else wants to bother with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was a quick and easy recipe when you have some extra beets on hand or when you don't want to fuss around with making "real" borscht. I definitely cooked the beets for about an hour instead of the recommended cooking time. I also eyeballed the amount of beets/broth and ended up with a fair amount of soup. Instead of putting this all in a food processor, I just cooked it in a large saucepan and used my immersion blender to liquefy it. It turned out a bit on the thick side, but there were no chunks at all. (cutting beets into smallers pieces helped) Novices be warned- this can get messy quicky! Wear your apron and be prepared to wipe up spills quickly. All in all, this was a GREAT taste for such an easy recipe. It's not "serve for company" soup, but it makes a nice homemade batch of warm comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States