Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My family just tried this beet soup for dinner for the first time. My 6-year-old son said, "I could eat this soup for lunch EVERY DAY and not get bored...for at least six days!" I added two small potatoes, grated carrots, and chopped celery as some of the reviewers had suggested, and mashed it by hand instead of pureeing it - my family prefers slightly chunky soup. (We also skipped the cream, since my husband is dairy-free and I discovered at the last minute that my cream had turned.) I'd been worried that the soup would be bland, but my fears were unfounded. What rich layers of flavor. If you like beets, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Sooo good. The only change I made was to use veggie stock instead of beef to make it vegetarian, and I added more stock as I let the beets cook for an hour. I used a dash of 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream to make it even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was an easy, delicious recipe. I doubled it, cut out the heavy cream and added a potato to make the soup a bit thicker, and served with some crumbled goat cheese. The goat cheese goes SO well with beets! I chopped the beets into relatively small pieces and had no problem cooking them in the time stated in the recipe. This also froze well! With the potato and doubling the recipe, it made 5 hearty servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
A bit too thick in my opinion, seemed more like a liquidy mashed beet. I would try again but will add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I loved it! Great flavor and texture. I chopped the beets (and a parsnip and a few carrots) in my food processor. Shortened the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I roasted the beets with some garlic cloves first, added 3 celery stalks, 1 carrot, 1 teaspoon of caraway seeds, 1 more cup of beef broth and 1 cup of water. Used sour cream instead of heavy cream at the end. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nickel612
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
great soup. I roasted the beets with a bit of olive oil, then after they cooled peeled them. I used veggie broth instead of beef. After I pureed it all together add some salt and pepper to taste. Instead of cream I garnished with chopped spinach and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Quick and easy to make although I thought my fingers would be red forever but it came off pretty easily. It was pretty basic but a good soup and definately a healthy soup until I added the heavy cream. What the heck ya cant live forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Not too bad, thought it was a tad too thick so i added more water after blending. I thought it was missing something taste wise so i added fresh Dill Weed and it brought everything together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States