Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
What a great quick recipe! I precooked the beets at 300 for about 30 minutes, and also added 3 thinly sliced potatoes. I doubled the amount of broth to 4 cups (I actually boiled the broth before adding it). Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed this recipe using chicken stock and 1 potato. I did thin it out a bit with some milk and it came out smooth and tasty. I am going to make this again playing with some flavour additions. I also used some of this as a base for a mixed fruit (banana & blueberry) smoothie and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used more onion (3), 8 cloves garlic and chicken stock. I also added 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar and instead of heavy cream, I crumbled feta cheese on top and omitted salt and pepper. Guess I completely changed the recipe because I didn't have the required ingredients! Was a smash hit all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wistaria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
In response to the review written by gina w. on Jul. 18, 2006. I've made this soup a couple times now and every time its turned out perfectly smooth. I know from experience why her soup came out chunky and it can be explained by the method of blending. She mentions using over 8 beets. I've made the soup with as little as 2 very large beets and with more than 8. I have also added a couple carrots and sweet vidalia, just for the heck of it. Both occasions with the addition of more vegetables, it still turned out smooth. When writing a negative review its important to tell us what kind of blender or food processor was used and whether you were able to liquefy the soup in portions. Properly. If having 6 or more beets its important to be dutiful with blending. You may have to do it a couple more times to ensure you've done it correctly. Sometimes if you put less content in a container for blending the blades throw the chunks to the top and regardless of how much time you leave it blending, because the speed of the blades is so high the chunks never get blended correctly. Its important to reconstitute different parts of it back into other parts and allow it to be liquefied again and again to ensure that its perfectly smooth. I've used a Magic Bullet blender and had some difficulty in getting the soup perfectly smooth. That's because you have a small capacity for blending which creates more work. Which often equals a chunky soup. * Add chili powder to make it SPICY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I was the only one who liked it between my wife and 1 1/2 yr old nephew. I thought it was so velvety and simple. The flavor was just fine and for someone who doesn't remember ever having fresh beets, I think this was a good first effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This soup is fantastic! I used Trader Joe's Hearty Vegetable Broth instead of the beef broth for a lighter flavor and as a vegetarian substitute. I recommend cooking the beets beforehand. They take about 45 minutes to 1 hour to get soft and you can cook them in advance then whip up the soup when you're ready. This soup would also be great as a topping over brown rice or a sauce with some other dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Simple and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsa:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolute heaven,this soup!I did add carrots,potatoes,and the beet leaves.and sooo healthy.i will make this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I got a bunch of beets in a box of produce this week and I wasn't sure what to do with them so I tried this. I was pleasantly surprised with how it turned out. I followed the recipe except that I used chicken stock. If you're a beet person, then I'm sure you'll like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My family just tried this beet soup for dinner for the first time. My 6-year-old son said, "I could eat this soup for lunch EVERY DAY and not get bored...for at least six days!" I added two small potatoes, grated carrots, and chopped celery as some of the reviewers had suggested, and mashed it by hand instead of pureeing it - my family prefers slightly chunky soup. (We also skipped the cream, since my husband is dairy-free and I discovered at the last minute that my cream had turned.) I'd been worried that the soup would be bland, but my fears were unfounded. What rich layers of flavor. If you like beets, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States