Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
add honey, dill, and Greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used chicken broth and added three stalks of celery, two carrots, and some rosemary for flavor. It turned out okay. It would go well with a grilled peanut-butter sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
You should try this recipe and alternate the beef stock with vegetable stock and the cream with an almond milk to make this even healthier! This should help with it not being overly thick. A nice light and very healthy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I added some ginger to the pan with the garlic and onions to give the soup a bit more bite. I also threw in 2 carrots for extra vitamins and flavor. After we blended it we decided to throw in 2 small apples to give a little more tartness and sweetness and to mellow out the powerful beef flavor. (Next time I make this I would use chicken or veggie stock). If you want to put an Asian twist on this soup I would garnish this with fresh chopped coriander (a.k.a cilantro).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Yummy! I did not process it and it did not need salt but I did add lots of other spices to it and some zuchinni as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
What a great quick recipe! I precooked the beets at 300 for about 30 minutes, and also added 3 thinly sliced potatoes. I doubled the amount of broth to 4 cups (I actually boiled the broth before adding it). Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed this recipe using chicken stock and 1 potato. I did thin it out a bit with some milk and it came out smooth and tasty. I am going to make this again playing with some flavour additions. I also used some of this as a base for a mixed fruit (banana & blueberry) smoothie and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used more onion (3), 8 cloves garlic and chicken stock. I also added 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar and instead of heavy cream, I crumbled feta cheese on top and omitted salt and pepper. Guess I completely changed the recipe because I didn't have the required ingredients! Was a smash hit all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wistaria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
In response to the review written by gina w. on Jul. 18, 2006. I've made this soup a couple times now and every time its turned out perfectly smooth. I know from experience why her soup came out chunky and it can be explained by the method of blending. She mentions using over 8 beets. I've made the soup with as little as 2 very large beets and with more than 8. I have also added a couple carrots and sweet vidalia, just for the heck of it. Both occasions with the addition of more vegetables, it still turned out smooth. When writing a negative review its important to tell us what kind of blender or food processor was used and whether you were able to liquefy the soup in portions. Properly. If having 6 or more beets its important to be dutiful with blending. You may have to do it a couple more times to ensure you've done it correctly. Sometimes if you put less content in a container for blending the blades throw the chunks to the top and regardless of how much time you leave it blending, because the speed of the blades is so high the chunks never get blended correctly. Its important to reconstitute different parts of it back into other parts and allow it to be liquefied again and again to ensure that its perfectly smooth. I've used a Magic Bullet blender and had some difficulty in getting the soup perfectly smooth. That's because you have a small capacity for blending which creates more work. Which often equals a chunky soup. * Add chili powder to make it SPICY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I was the only one who liked it between my wife and 1 1/2 yr old nephew. I thought it was so velvety and simple. The flavor was just fine and for someone who doesn't remember ever having fresh beets, I think this was a good first effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States