Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This soup was creamy and delightful. Great mouth feel! I will caution those who do not care for beets, you still taste them on the finish, however to me the marriage of the cream and pureed beet enhances that true iron flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I do not like beets but got red and golden ones in my farm fresh basket so I decided to put them to good use. It did take longer to cook, especially the golden beets and I added two med size carrots too. I made sure the beets were soft and had no texture issues others have mentioned. My husband loves beets, he loved the soup. I dislike beets but the soup was actually pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It was my first time making beet soup and I couldn't be more pleased. I used onions and shallots and let the beets simmer for just over 45 minutes. I used a dollop of sour cream instead of cream and swirled it around. Definite hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I HATE beets and this makes them pallatable for me which may not sound like much but from me for beets really it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is a DELICIOUS soup!! After reading the reviews, I went ahead and simmered it for one hour, just to be sure; and after a minute in the Ninja, it was smooth as silk. I had also added some celery and carrots that needed to get used up, and homemade chicken broth. I made sure the veggies were just about caramelized before adding the broth, which added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meredith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Made it with chicken stock and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
We like chunky instead of pureed so I used a potato masher. We added shredded cheese instead of heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Delicious! Very easy to make, I used a bit more of the beets suggested since I had them from my garden. Cooked them for about an hour and blended them in my Vitamix. Can't get better than this. Very healthy, and yummy. I made four batches and I am going to freeze it for a cold winter day. I love this kind of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
The heavy cream adds a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I was doubtful at first, but having beets and not knowing what to do with them, I tried this recipe. It is the best soup I believe I've ever made and I make a lot of soup! I had a lot of small beets to use up and cooked them on the stove to remove their skins. In addition to the listed ingredients, I added vegetable stock because that is what was on hand then remembered I had some chicken stock in the freezer so I added that as well to my pot of beets with a bay leaf, and some crushed dry rosemary. Thank you for a real Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States