Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I really enjoyed this soup! Great way to use up beets! I added some fresh chopped basil at the end with some sea salt, it was delicious! I read someone else's review who said they would probably not sauté the onions and garlic next time, but just cook them in the stock. I think I agree with that because I thought the oil & sauté flavor was a bit too strong. I think part of the beauty of this recipe is the ease that a person can tweak it to fit their taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This soup was creamy and delightful. Great mouth feel! I will caution those who do not care for beets, you still taste them on the finish, however to me the marriage of the cream and pureed beet enhances that true iron flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I do not like beets but got red and golden ones in my farm fresh basket so I decided to put them to good use. It did take longer to cook, especially the golden beets and I added two med size carrots too. I made sure the beets were soft and had no texture issues others have mentioned. My husband loves beets, he loved the soup. I dislike beets but the soup was actually pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It was my first time making beet soup and I couldn't be more pleased. I used onions and shallots and let the beets simmer for just over 45 minutes. I used a dollop of sour cream instead of cream and swirled it around. Definite hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I HATE beets and this makes them pallatable for me which may not sound like much but from me for beets really it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is a DELICIOUS soup!! After reading the reviews, I went ahead and simmered it for one hour, just to be sure; and after a minute in the Ninja, it was smooth as silk. I had also added some celery and carrots that needed to get used up, and homemade chicken broth. I made sure the veggies were just about caramelized before adding the broth, which added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meredith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Made it with chicken stock and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
We like chunky instead of pureed so I used a potato masher. We added shredded cheese instead of heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Delicious! Very easy to make, I used a bit more of the beets suggested since I had them from my garden. Cooked them for about an hour and blended them in my Vitamix. Can't get better than this. Very healthy, and yummy. I made four batches and I am going to freeze it for a cold winter day. I love this kind of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
The heavy cream adds a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States