Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I think this is a good recipe, but even though I like all the ingredients, I did not care for the salad. I chose to reduce the oil to 1/3 cup, & used rice vinegar in place of white wine vinegar because that is what I had on hand. I would increase the amount of vinegar & lemon juice combined, to equal the amount of oil. I would recommend reducing the amount of thyme by half, especially if marinating overnight/leftovers, unless you really like a strong thyme flavor. When baking the beets I also recommend standing them on the stem end to bake, because I found it difficult to peel them & see where the peel was,when baked on whatever surface landed on the pan. This may be due to using larger beets which had to bake longer. I'm disappointed that I didn't like the finished salad better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit. We tried it prior to the big day with canned beets but I really enjoyed the fresh beets and they were not hard to cook. We all really enjoyed the dressing. The feta really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Love this salad! I used beets from the jar and served with the Grecian Pork Tenderloin from this site. Thanks for the great recipes. We enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Wonderful! Beautiful and flavorful, don't pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Beautiful and delicious salad with a regrettably DULL name. If I wouldn't have had the list of ingredients to look at I would have passed "Beet Salad" right up. And besides, there's so much more going on with this salad than just beets! We loved the dressing with the 3:1 oil to vinegar ratio we prefer. I also liked that it called for the less harsh white wine vinegar and lemon juice. I did, however, skip the thyme, preferring the clean and simple flavors of the dressing without it. I also loved the presentation and the beautiful, less common components of the salad itself. No feta on hand, and Hubs doesn't like it anyway; so he enjoyed his with fresh shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano and I happily had the blue cheese he detests on mine. A simply lovely, sophisticated salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This salad was excellent. Also beautiful to look at and healthy. Make sure to use small, fresh beets, as it makes a big difference to the flavour. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
What a fabulous tasting salad! Instead of roasting the beets, I boiled them on the stovetop (for time's sake) and it came out delicious. I would recommend making more of the dressing, just because I don't think it coated the salad well enough for the amount of greens I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was very good. I love the combination of the sweet dressing and beets and the salty feta (I added a bit more to play up the salty/tangy side). I used raw, shredded beets, and I tossed in more endive because I love the texture it adds. The only thing I'd do differently is I'd use a touch more dressing. I think this would also be good with fresh oregano in addition to the thyme. Unfortunately, this didn't hold up so well the next day; the endive got a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really liked this salad and so did my friends. Next time I make it I will leave out the endive, but I think that's just because I don't like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Disappointed with how this turned out. Not the right mix of flavors for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States