Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Didn't like the dressing much. I took MRSLUCKYSTONE's suggestion and cut the thyme and oil by 1/2, but I still thought the thyme and mustard tastes were too strong. Maybe I should have upped the vinegar, too, like she suggested. I liked the salad, though, and had it again with balsamic & olive oil and liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
What a fabulous tasting salad! Instead of roasting the beets, I boiled them on the stovetop (for time's sake) and it came out delicious. I would recommend making more of the dressing, just because I don't think it coated the salad well enough for the amount of greens I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
There are so many taste sensations going on in this salad that your mouth will be doing the happy dance. Slightly sweet, slightly bitter and that nice bite from the feta all works to make one incredible salad. Try adding some candied pecans for another layer of texture and crunch. Yum and thank you Robbie Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This salad was excellent. Also beautiful to look at and healthy. Make sure to use small, fresh beets, as it makes a big difference to the flavour. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Have never had so much praise for a salad as I have from this one. Looks beautiful on the place too! I omitted the endive and it worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was very good. I love the combination of the sweet dressing and beets and the salty feta (I added a bit more to play up the salty/tangy side). I used raw, shredded beets, and I tossed in more endive because I love the texture it adds. The only thing I'd do differently is I'd use a touch more dressing. I think this would also be good with fresh oregano in addition to the thyme. Unfortunately, this didn't hold up so well the next day; the endive got a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really liked this salad and so did my friends. Next time I make it I will leave out the endive, but I think that's just because I don't like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I think this is a good recipe, but even though I like all the ingredients, I did not care for the salad. I chose to reduce the oil to 1/3 cup, & used rice vinegar in place of white wine vinegar because that is what I had on hand. I would increase the amount of vinegar & lemon juice combined, to equal the amount of oil. I would recommend reducing the amount of thyme by half, especially if marinating overnight/leftovers, unless you really like a strong thyme flavor. When baking the beets I also recommend standing them on the stem end to bake, because I found it difficult to peel them & see where the peel was,when baked on whatever surface landed on the pan. This may be due to using larger beets which had to bake longer. I'm disappointed that I didn't like the finished salad better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Wonderful! Beautiful and flavorful, don't pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States