Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this exact salad in culinary school. It's really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Jouppi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Took a gamble and made this for company last night and it was very well received! Love receiving compliments on a meal! The dressing is very nice but did make some small changes using only one tablespoon of Dijon and used fresh basil instead of thyme (added after blending) and a bit more honey. I roasted the beets just wrapping in foil and roasting until the meats seems tender when inserted with a skewer (depending on size, could be an hour or so). A tip for peeling is to hold the beet in a paper towel and rub, the skin will come right off. I prefer Goat Cheese on a beet salad and so did our guests but had the Feta available for Hubs. I didn't use any endive, it would make a pretty presentation but I personally find it bitter. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I have made this salad multiple times including dinner parties and everyone loves it. The only thing I changed is that I add toasted walnut pieces which I think is essential. The thyme dressing is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Regarding my last message. Use a potato peeler for your beets i do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
On a whim I bought packaged beets from Trader Joes and was looking for something fun to use them. Hubby sprang a last minute business dinner on me so what better time to try a new recipe?! This salad is delicious. There were only 7 of us so I halved the recipe, left out the endive and added shredded carrots for color. Thanks to other posters, I used the full recipe of dressing and it was perfect. Hubby's client asked me to send him a bottle of my 'special dressing'. Gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
loved the beets! great salad dressing too. i forgot to add the feta cheese, but it was very light and flavorful. i thought the endives would be nice for the presentation, but it would totally have been fine without it. nobody really ate the leaves either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe was wonderful....I axed the Belgian endive and added candied pecans and it has become one of my favourite salads! I have also done it with toasted slivered almonds and it was equally delicious! The dressing is really nice to use on any salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I added walnuts and used a bag of "spring mix" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Love this! I wanted something quick and easy after work today so I cheated by using canned (not pickled) beets, and I was done in 5 mins. The dressing is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States