Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
A friend made this with cubed roasted sweet potato to which she added olive oil, onion & garlic powder and used goat instead of feta. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vasha
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was a hit at a birthday potluck dinner. Some folks avoid nuts and/or dairy, so I divvied the lettuce/spinach/dressing mixture onto five large romaine leaves as individual salads (instead of the endive) on a platter. People chose feta or shaved parm topping; toasted almonds and extra cheese were in a small side dishes. I used both gold and red beets for color; and used an immersion blender rather than drag out the heavy equipment, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This salad is a home run! I don't even enjoy beets. Like at all. But being tired of the same 'ol, same 'ol and wanting something different from the starch and cooked veggie staple to go with the pork tenderloin I was making, I chose this salad and pan fried brussel sprouts with bacon. I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception that instead of endive, I used a combination of spring mix and mache lettuces. Roasting the (as suggested, small) beets wasn't a big deal and I'm thinking they taste better than jarred and that's why I've stayed away from the veggie in the first place. I also took the advice of another reviewer and added some toasted walnut pieces to the salad. The vinaigrette is *beautiful*. I thought a full tsp of thyme would be too much. Nope! I used a grainy dijon mustard which made it look almost poppyseed. It was only the two of us eating dinner, so I drizzled the vinaigrette over the salad as opposed to tossing everything together. Very pretty. Very tasty. Not sure why the pic has mushrooms as the recipe doesn't call for them. This is a beet salad, not a beet and mushroom salad? In any event, this recipe, as is, is definitely being added to my binder of go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Not yet, but I am going to. Question, why put mushrooms in the photo and not the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I want to try this but I am confused. The picture looks like there are slices of mushroom in the salad but they are not listed in the ingredients - are there mushrooms or are my eyes playing tricks on me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this exact salad in culinary school. It's really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Jouppi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Took a gamble and made this for company last night and it was very well received! Love receiving compliments on a meal! The dressing is very nice but did make some small changes using only one tablespoon of Dijon and used fresh basil instead of thyme (added after blending) and a bit more honey. I roasted the beets just wrapping in foil and roasting until the meats seems tender when inserted with a skewer (depending on size, could be an hour or so). A tip for peeling is to hold the beet in a paper towel and rub, the skin will come right off. I prefer Goat Cheese on a beet salad and so did our guests but had the Feta available for Hubs. I didn't use any endive, it would make a pretty presentation but I personally find it bitter. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I have made this salad multiple times including dinner parties and everyone loves it. The only thing I changed is that I add toasted walnut pieces which I think is essential. The thyme dressing is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Regarding my last message. Use a potato peeler for your beets i do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States