Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
On a whim I bought packaged beets from Trader Joes and was looking for something fun to use them. Hubby sprang a last minute business dinner on me so what better time to try a new recipe?! This salad is delicious. There were only 7 of us so I halved the recipe, left out the endive and added shredded carrots for color. Thanks to other posters, I used the full recipe of dressing and it was perfect. Hubby's client asked me to send him a bottle of my 'special dressing'. Gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
loved the beets! great salad dressing too. i forgot to add the feta cheese, but it was very light and flavorful. i thought the endives would be nice for the presentation, but it would totally have been fine without it. nobody really ate the leaves either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe was wonderful....I axed the Belgian endive and added candied pecans and it has become one of my favourite salads! I have also done it with toasted slivered almonds and it was equally delicious! The dressing is really nice to use on any salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I added walnuts and used a bag of "spring mix" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Love this! I wanted something quick and easy after work today so I cheated by using canned (not pickled) beets, and I was done in 5 mins. The dressing is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I subbed in romaine lettuce cause I had some and added balsamic vinegar and lemon zest. I also used bottled red shredded beets. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Beautiful and delicious salad with a regrettably DULL name. If I wouldn't have had the list of ingredients to look at I would have passed "Beet Salad" right up. And besides, there's so much more going on with this salad than just beets! We loved the dressing with the 3:1 oil to vinegar ratio we prefer. I also liked that it called for the less harsh white wine vinegar and lemon juice. I did, however, skip the thyme, preferring the clean and simple flavors of the dressing without it. I also loved the presentation and the beautiful, less common components of the salad itself. No feta on hand, and Hubs doesn't like it anyway; so he enjoyed his with fresh shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano and I happily had the blue cheese he detests on mine. A simply lovely, sophisticated salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Loved this recipe. I added some almonds and used goat cheese instead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
YUM! Loved this one! The dressing was perfect and I made it with exact porportions. I added a small bit of red onion. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States