Beet, Orange and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This is a great summer salad. I grew some beets for the first time and had a couple of apples and an orange sitting around and this recipe was perfect! Light and wonderful in our summer heat. It went perfect with a small stuffed flank steak and a glass of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very yummy! Great for one of the first spring days. It was a little heavy on the apple, and not so much on the beets and oranges, but that is certainly something that's easy enough to adjust. The dressing was just the right amount too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I made this for a dinner party of 16 and it was a resounding success. I followed the recipe exactly, but I later experimented and can make the following suggestions: 1. Instead of fresh oranges, use either canned mandarin oranges or fresh mango. 2. add some fresh arugula-- it's natural peppery taste really adds to the salad. 3. Slice the apples as thin as you possibly can. 4. Use spanish almonds or hazelnuts instead of sunflower seeds. 5. Use both golden and red beets. 6. Add some caramalized onions. To serve 16, I used one medium red onion sliced in 1/4" slices, brushed with olive oil, layered on a baking sheet and roasted in the oven at the same time I roasted the beets. It took about 15-20 minutes. The roasting brings out the natural sweetness of the onions, and they are not at all overpowering or onion-y. 7. Toss greens and the dressing, then add the beets and the warm ingredients at the last minute. 8. Don't make extra because this salad does not save well overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This salad is a big hit where ever I take it any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I used only one apple, and half the amount of garlic. I would cut the orange slices in half next time I make it - and double the amount of dressing to have extra. The greens were "dry" with the dressing only on the fruits. Excellent yummy salad full of great antioxidants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Surprisingly good! A different way to use the beets in my garden; looks like a restaurant salad on the plate. The toasted walnuts makes the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Obviously, I did not like this recipe. Too many beets for the apple and orange. I would put more orange in, leave the apple the same and cut the beets in half. The dressing was good. The apples soaked up the dressing and that was tasty. I have another beet recipe I "should" post and share that I like much better and is easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
very good flavors. i was absent minded and forgot the garlic. still tasted yummy! i made this for myself & my 16-month old baby. he didn't like the beets & wouldn't touch the oranges & apples b/c they were red! he just ate the sunflower seeds & i quickly added un-beeted orange slices to his plate. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I make this using half golden beets and half red, and I only cook them to tender-crisp stage. I like to replace some of the beet greens with watercress, and often substitute tangerines for the orange. Of special note, I double the dressing ingredients, and toss all together. For a nice Asian style dressing version, try seasoned rice wine vinegar (substituted for raspberry vinegar) with cayenne flakes and a touch of sesame oil. For variety, my favorite add-ins are dried cranberries, pine nuts, and seasoned ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States