Beet, Orange and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This salad was right up my alley! I loved it! Gourmet restaurant quality. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Someone said "this is the perfect summer recipe" but I disagree. This is perfect for autumn or winter, there are way more exciting fresh things in summer than beets and apples! In fact, I served this as an appetizer to Thanksgiving and it was HUGE, people came back for more salad instead of turkey. I tweaked it: 1. I used canned beets! I drained and sliced into strips. 2. Added arugula and some butter lettuce to beet greens. 3. Used walnuts instead of sunflower seeds. 4. Topped with crumbled goat cheese. 4. Used mandarins, the kind that are so sweet aroudn the holidays. Again, this is most definitely an autumn winter salad, perfect for holiday entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Husband loves this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I make this using half golden beets and half red, and I only cook them to tender-crisp stage. I like to replace some of the beet greens with watercress, and often substitute tangerines for the orange. Of special note, I double the dressing ingredients, and toss all together. For a nice Asian style dressing version, try seasoned rice wine vinegar (substituted for raspberry vinegar) with cayenne flakes and a touch of sesame oil. For variety, my favorite add-ins are dried cranberries, pine nuts, and seasoned ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
very good flavors. i was absent minded and forgot the garlic. still tasted yummy! i made this for myself & my 16-month old baby. he didn't like the beets & wouldn't touch the oranges & apples b/c they were red! he just ate the sunflower seeds & i quickly added un-beeted orange slices to his plate. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Obviously, I did not like this recipe. Too many beets for the apple and orange. I would put more orange in, leave the apple the same and cut the beets in half. The dressing was good. The apples soaked up the dressing and that was tasty. I have another beet recipe I "should" post and share that I like much better and is easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Surprisingly good! A different way to use the beets in my garden; looks like a restaurant salad on the plate. The toasted walnuts makes the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I used only one apple, and half the amount of garlic. I would cut the orange slices in half next time I make it - and double the amount of dressing to have extra. The greens were "dry" with the dressing only on the fruits. Excellent yummy salad full of great antioxidants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This salad is a big hit where ever I take it any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States