Beet, Orange and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I will make this for my salad tonight. One change will be to add romaine lettuce and remove the beet greens. I'm sure it will be delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was good but it is missing something. I tried doing the substitution with almonds instead of sunflower seeds but I ended up adding the sunflower seeds on top of the almonds. The almonds just didn't have enough flavor to add to the salad (I know, blasphemous almond speak even as I type it:) ) I ended up adding blue cheese, which tasted great, but what I was really looking for was more of a crunch than a fat. I will play with this salad until I figure it out because it does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My guests raved about this salad. The beets turned the apples the most amazing bright fuchia color. I served it over a bright green lettuce instead of the beet greens for a prettier color combo (and ate the beet greens later). It takes a while to prepare, what with cooking and cooling the beets and cutting everything up, but the final result is delicious and really lights up your dining table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was the biggest surprise of our thanksgiving. It was really surprising and a big hit. I used arugula since my beets came with the greens trimmed off. I also used apple cider vinegar because that's all I had and toasted walnuts instead of sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The oranges really changed the beets flavor for the better but I will use fewer beets next time and let them marinate with the oranges for a while before serving. The 2nd day was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I used peaches instead of apples, and omitted the sugar and salt. I served this on red leaf lettuce, not beet greens. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This has become our go-to recipe for the beets that we receive throughout the summer in our weekly farm share. I have never liked beets, but this recipe works. As a shortcut, I usually use a raspberry vinaigrette dressing. I add blue or gorgonzola cheese and either dried blueberries or cranberries. I toss the greens together with the fruit/beet mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a good salad, but doubbling or trippling the dressing would be helpful when using more lettuce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this into a pasta salad and it was great! The beets turned everything a nice shade of hot pink but it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Brought as my contribution to a 10-person dinner. I left out the oranges & purchased raspberry dressing. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States