Beet, Orange and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Surprisingly good! A different way to use the beets in my garden; looks like a restaurant salad on the plate. The toasted walnuts makes the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This is a great summer salad. I grew some beets for the first time and had a couple of apples and an orange sitting around and this recipe was perfect! Light and wonderful in our summer heat. It went perfect with a small stuffed flank steak and a glass of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very yummy! Great for one of the first spring days. It was a little heavy on the apple, and not so much on the beets and oranges, but that is certainly something that's easy enough to adjust. The dressing was just the right amount too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I made this for a dinner party of 16 and it was a resounding success. I followed the recipe exactly, but I later experimented and can make the following suggestions: 1. Instead of fresh oranges, use either canned mandarin oranges or fresh mango. 2. add some fresh arugula-- it's natural peppery taste really adds to the salad. 3. Slice the apples as thin as you possibly can. 4. Use spanish almonds or hazelnuts instead of sunflower seeds. 5. Use both golden and red beets. 6. Add some caramalized onions. To serve 16, I used one medium red onion sliced in 1/4" slices, brushed with olive oil, layered on a baking sheet and roasted in the oven at the same time I roasted the beets. It took about 15-20 minutes. The roasting brings out the natural sweetness of the onions, and they are not at all overpowering or onion-y. 7. Toss greens and the dressing, then add the beets and the warm ingredients at the last minute. 8. Don't make extra because this salad does not save well overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This salad is a big hit where ever I take it any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I used only one apple, and half the amount of garlic. I would cut the orange slices in half next time I make it - and double the amount of dressing to have extra. The greens were "dry" with the dressing only on the fruits. Excellent yummy salad full of great antioxidants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Husband loves this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This salad was right up my alley! I loved it! Gourmet restaurant quality. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this into a pasta salad and it was great! The beets turned everything a nice shade of hot pink but it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States