Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I rarely write review but felt compelled to write one for this recipe. My CSA box always has lots of beets late in the summer and this year was no exception. My 3 year old, my 6 year old, and my husband all LOVED this recipe which I made into cupcakes. The children begged me for some "cupcakes" everyday. No once can tell what is in it! I only used 1 cup of sugar, I used half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour, and I added 2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder as one reviewer suggested. I've made plenty of recipes where I "hide" veggies and other whole grains into food and this is by far the best response I've received from my family so far. Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
OM MY! THIS WAS AWESOME! To save myself some time, I used three cans (15 oz.) of sliced beets and mashed them. It produced about 2 1/2 cups. I only used two cups as the recipe indicated. The aroma while the cake was baking was out of this world. I did follow the rest of the recipe to a tee. It DOES come out very moist. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I love this recipe! I use only 1 c beets and 1 c grated carrots and/or zucchini. I find it helps hide the earthy aftertaste of the beets. Also, I use half whole wheat flour/half all-purpose, cut the sugar to 1 c, and I add 1 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This cake is miraculous. I used 5 medium sized beets. Boiled them, then pureed in blender using about 1/2 cup of the water from the pot. When the batter is mixed, it is a VERY bright magenta. Really alarming...And it does not taste good. But don't fret! But when the cake is done, it is absolutely fantastic. No hint of beet taste and the color is like a normal chocolate cake...but extra delicious. Served to several people and nobody could taste the beets. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I was very skeptical about the concept of beets in a cake (which is precisely why I HAD to try this recipe), but this was delicious. Very moist but still "dense". I halved the recipe (but still used 3 eggs), baked it in medium sized loaf pans (it filled 2) and -- once cooled -- I sliced 1 loaf and set it out on the kitchen table. My family (which includes 3 adult "children") know better than to ask me anything about the "surprises" I oftentimes set before them, but I'm happy to report that the first loaf was gone before dinner, 1/2 of the second was gone before bedtime and all were pleased to find a slice of it in their lunch bags. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
this is an amazing recipe, I made 24 muffin cakes and they were so light and fluffy the best I had ever made, I added a few tablespoons of cocoa to the flour for extra chocolate, but that is just me! I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pukekohe, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe is great. Instead of using a bundt pan I used several very small spring form pans and then gave each of my friends a tiny cake. I also split each cake in half and put raspberry jam in between which gave it a great taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Excellent! From 4 medium sized beets I got a bit less than 2 cups of mushed beets, so I will try with 5 next time. Very moist cake with a great taste. You could never tell there were beets in it. My kids enjoyed it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. Even my husband, who thinks that "beets are the worst thing to happen to the human race", still does not believe that there are beets in this cake. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a special recipe. It turns out moist and delicious with a very unique flavor. I went a little overboard with 6 beets - you could taste them in the cake so next time I'll use 4 or 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States