Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Its okay. Not bad if you don't mind beets. I hate them and could tell they were in there, but my kids didn't notice (I told them it was just a chocolate cake). Will probably make again to use up some of the beets in my garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
very good the next day. something about it on the first day... it smelled and tasted like beets. however the second day it was a moist, delicious chocolate cake. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is a really moist, delicious cake. My husband was adamant that it deserved five stars--even though he jokingly made gagging faces after I revealed the secret ingredient. I think with most people you will need to have them try (and fall in love with) the cake before you tell the secret flavor, because so many people have a knee-jerk response to veggies in their desserts. He couldn't taste the beets, though I could (perhaps because I made it and knew they were there?). I did use the other reviewers' suggestion to add 2Tbl cocoa powder, and I threw in a few chocolate chips into the batter at the end too (since my bag was almost empty anyway). We didn't think it needed any frosting, it was great with a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I never review cakes because most of the ones I try on here are hardly worth a second thought. This one, however, I've made over and over again. The cake is incredibly good. The flavor of the beets is masked by the chocolate. I will say that I put in more than 4 oz of chocolate each time... I just like it very chocolatey. The smell of beets is very obvious as the cake bakes but after it has been cooled and frosted, unsuspecting family members will not be able to tell. The purple color also disappears after baking... it just looks like a chocolate cake but it tastes 100 times better than the boxed kind. I've bought beets on several occasions in order to make this cake. The only thing that I don't like is the amount of effort involved in cooking, peeling, and pureeing the main ingredient. TRY IT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I was amazed by how delicious, and undetectable the beets were in this recipe! I had an overripe banana on hand, so I threw it in with the beets while pureeing...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
yuk! i hated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is the best cake I've ever had. Seriously. I can't remember a more moist delicious cake. I made this for my husbands birthday. The only alteration made was I used 1 cup beets and 1 cup carrots. I also used a chocolate bunt cake glaze also found on allrecipes.com. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I agree that the flavours of chocolate and beets go very well together. It does lead to a rather "earthy" aftertaste, but that is sort of the charm of this recipe! I converted this recipe to cupcakes, and baked them for around 18-20 mins. I added about 1/4 cup of milk to the batter for the second batch, and they turned out a lot fluffier than the first. I will try it as a bundt cake next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Loved it! My wife and children didn't have a clue there was beets in the recipe and I felt it accentuated the flavors. Oh, 3 tablespoons of rum is a minimum if using a Ganache topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADOF7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
So moist and yummy - I love it! I would make this before non-beet chocolate cake, actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States