Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Impressive. I "glazed" it with melted chocolate. Very rich and tasty. Don't let the burgundy/purple batter scare you, it really does come out a very nice dark brown just like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Loved it. I used chocolate syrup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I had four small beets from my CSA box and was stumped as to what to do with them. I read the reviews and decided to give this cake a try. The four beets only came to about 1 cup of puree. I decided to just see what would happen with that amount instead of getting more or subbing something else. I also used half all purpose flour, half cake flour. Those were my only alterations (other than baking it in a regular pan instead of a bundt pan) and they worked. There was absolutely ZERO beet taste to the cake, it was moist but not mushy, and very tender. A little heavy on the prep/clean-up but totally worth it. Also note that, though the cake looks REALLY dark, the chocolate flavor is not overwhelming - it tastes like a normal chocolate cake, not a 'death by chocolate' type dessert. The beets just enhance the depth of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I have NEVER anticipated my next purchase of beets so much! This recipe yielded the most moist and flavorful chocolate cake I have ever made. I made cream cheese frosting and thinned a TINY bit with milk. I put into a ziploc bag, snipped the corner and drizzled all over for a gorgeous presentation. I brought this to a potluck with our CSA. By the time I ran to my car and back, I was reaching for the last sliver! Decadent, moist, delicious... and best of all, my 4 year old would have eaten the whole thing if she could have! Next time, I will try with some applesauce substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I was a little nervous about detecting the beet flavor, so I added chocolate chips, 1 tablespoon of cocoa, and topped the cake with the chocolate bundt cake icing found here at allrecipes. I served it to my guests at my daughter's baby shower and mentioned that there was a "secret" ingredient. No one could guess what it was. At the end of the shower, I told them it was beets and no one could believe it. The cake was almost totally gone at the end. This is a great recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
the density, texture, and moistness of this cake are perfect. my family raved about this cake, but the hint of beet flavor isn't what i'm craving when i want a piece of decadent chocolate cake. will definitely be making it again because it was such a hit with everyone else. i agree that not knowing there's beet in it is the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yummy! Instead of making a bundt cake, I made cupcakes, and topped them with the chocolate ganache recipe instead of using regular frosting. You can taste the beets a bit if you know they're in there, but if you don't, they're really not discernible. They just add moistness and a depth of flavor. I also added an extra 2 Tbl. cocoa, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I think I'll make 'chocolate' cake this way every time.... love being able to sneak those veggies in!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Everyone loved this cake! I thought it was o.k. but apparently it was a big hit at my family BBQ. I didn't think it was fluffy enough and when I tasted it it still tasted a lot like beets. I ended up drizzling melted chocolate on it to give it a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Wow! This was so good-very moist and chocolatety.I used 4 large beets, and baked it in a springform pan.I couldn't taste the beets at all. My husband said it was the best chocolate he ever had,and my kids loved it, too.Great use of all those beets from the garden. I'm going to try this in cupcakes next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States