Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great chocolate cake. I took this to a group dinner and no one noticed anything odd about the cake. I added 3 Tbsp per reviews, 1/2 cup brewed coffee, and used lt brn sugar (on accident). I baked it in a 9x13 and frosted it with chocolate cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Impressive. I "glazed" it with melted chocolate. Very rich and tasty. Don't let the burgundy/purple batter scare you, it really does come out a very nice dark brown just like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Loved it. I used chocolate syrup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I had four small beets from my CSA box and was stumped as to what to do with them. I read the reviews and decided to give this cake a try. The four beets only came to about 1 cup of puree. I decided to just see what would happen with that amount instead of getting more or subbing something else. I also used half all purpose flour, half cake flour. Those were my only alterations (other than baking it in a regular pan instead of a bundt pan) and they worked. There was absolutely ZERO beet taste to the cake, it was moist but not mushy, and very tender. A little heavy on the prep/clean-up but totally worth it. Also note that, though the cake looks REALLY dark, the chocolate flavor is not overwhelming - it tastes like a normal chocolate cake, not a 'death by chocolate' type dessert. The beets just enhance the depth of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I have NEVER anticipated my next purchase of beets so much! This recipe yielded the most moist and flavorful chocolate cake I have ever made. I made cream cheese frosting and thinned a TINY bit with milk. I put into a ziploc bag, snipped the corner and drizzled all over for a gorgeous presentation. I brought this to a potluck with our CSA. By the time I ran to my car and back, I was reaching for the last sliver! Decadent, moist, delicious... and best of all, my 4 year old would have eaten the whole thing if she could have! Next time, I will try with some applesauce substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I was a little nervous about detecting the beet flavor, so I added chocolate chips, 1 tablespoon of cocoa, and topped the cake with the chocolate bundt cake icing found here at allrecipes. I served it to my guests at my daughter's baby shower and mentioned that there was a "secret" ingredient. No one could guess what it was. At the end of the shower, I told them it was beets and no one could believe it. The cake was almost totally gone at the end. This is a great recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
the density, texture, and moistness of this cake are perfect. my family raved about this cake, but the hint of beet flavor isn't what i'm craving when i want a piece of decadent chocolate cake. will definitely be making it again because it was such a hit with everyone else. i agree that not knowing there's beet in it is the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yummy! Instead of making a bundt cake, I made cupcakes, and topped them with the chocolate ganache recipe instead of using regular frosting. You can taste the beets a bit if you know they're in there, but if you don't, they're really not discernible. They just add moistness and a depth of flavor. I also added an extra 2 Tbl. cocoa, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I think I'll make 'chocolate' cake this way every time.... love being able to sneak those veggies in!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Everyone loved this cake! I thought it was o.k. but apparently it was a big hit at my family BBQ. I didn't think it was fluffy enough and when I tasted it it still tasted a lot like beets. I ended up drizzling melted chocolate on it to give it a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States