Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Perhaps if at least half of the baking soda was used, maybe it wouldn't taste so much like...baking soda. Unfortunately not even my Mom liked the cake. I had high hopes for this cake, but it let me down big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
awesome chocolate cake! I used canned beets that I drained and rinsed well. To puree them and allow for less cleanup, I put them in a glass measuring cup and used a handheld blender and pureed them in it. I used half white flour and half whole wheat. Also, I melted the chocolate with the butter asked for, but used vegetable oil for the rest. It was really easy to make, and came out a perfect chocolate cake! I would add chocolate chips to the batter next time to make it even more chocolatey. The texture of the cake is so light and fluffy and moist. Neither I or the kids could tell there was beets or anything weird in it. Feels goo to eat chocolate cake that is not so bad for you!! Thanks for the recipe, we all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This cake was delicious! Had 3 large-ish beets from a box of organic veggies, cut them into 8 pieces and boiled them for 40 minutes. Peeled and pureed, and ended up with over 2 cups of puree. Only had 1/2 cup of butter, subbed veg oil for the rest. Upped the chocolate to 5 oz. and added 2 T of cocoa powder for an extra chocolately cake. Turned out very moist. My boyfriend asked me to make frosting when it was coming out of the oven, but forgot about that and happily ate it with powdered sugar. Will make this again for sure. Maybe next time I'll use applesauce instead of the oil, and decrease the sugar a little and use whole wheat for half the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseyak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I was super excited to make this cake even though I am not a beet person. The cake is very moist and texture was awesome. The first day it was a little too beety but the next day the chocolate really kicked in! My 21 month old loved it and thought it was chocolate cake! Next time, I will put a glaze over the top but I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this during the summer when we were up to our ears in beets from the CSA. I didn't tell my kids what was in the cake before they ate it, and they ate it all up. I had to confess once they asked if there were raisins in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Gobbled up by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
LOVE THIS RECIPE even tho I hate beets, was given two cans of beets from my aunt and wanted to do something useful with them.Now I plan on buying soem more beets so I can make this as a holiday gift for friends and family. I made a couple of changes for a friend who can not use butter or maragrine. I used 1 cup butter flavor crisco mixed with 6 teaspoons water for butter , plain granulated sugar instead of brown and 2 cans drained sliced beets pureed for the pureed cooked beets, made it in 4 mini loaf pans baked at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes or untill toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI_ILLUSION_ST

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
A very moist cake; easy instructions. I did not like the strong beet flavor, but that is just my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARISTA74
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I was looking for a good way to get rid of a big purchase of beets courtesy my DH. And did I hit the jackpot! This cake turned out moist and lightly sweet and tastes rich and not at all healthy like you would expect vegetable to taste. ;) It has a dense almost fudge brownie kind of texture. I did add one additional TBSP of cocoa powder and that's it. I would recommend a light glaze for those who have a big sweet tooth. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARISTA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great chocolate cake. I took this to a group dinner and no one noticed anything odd about the cake. I added 3 Tbsp per reviews, 1/2 cup brewed coffee, and used lt brn sugar (on accident). I baked it in a 9x13 and frosted it with chocolate cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States