Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
A great way of using beets other than canning/pickling! Delicious & moist. Tastes nothing like beets, but chocolate. A great sneaky way of getting beets in our kids. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful cake. I substituted 1/3c cocoa powder (no extra sugar) and 1/8c oil for semisweet squares and the cake came out fine. One young consumer said he could taste the beets, but he knew ahead of time they were in there. Nobody else could tell there were beets in there. I certainly couldn't. The cake texture is slightly off, but not displeasingly so. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I like this but it does have a unique flavor. My beet-hating husband says he swears he can taste the beet, but he still ate three cupcakes out of the oven (with chocolate fudge frosting), so that's saying something! I'm okay with beets, sometimes, but I liked the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was sweet, moist and chocolatey. The 3, 5 and 29 year olds loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I was skeptical... beets in a cake??? Had to try it out and WOW!!! Great cake! Not THE best chocolate cake in the world but it's still way up there. I give it 5 stars because my boyfriend HATES beets, but he ate most of the cake and loved it. I halved the recipe and added two big Tbsp of cocoa because I'm a big chocolate lover and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is amazing! My husband will not eat beets, but he asked for this to be put in his lunch. A very chocolatey taste, dark and rich, but not too sweet! I added 2 TBS of cocoa per suggestions and would definetely recommend that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I only had 3 beets which equaled 1 cup after pureeing, so I added 1 cup of zucchini. Still moist and delicious, but I couldn't taste any beet flavor. Next time I'm following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was good, all my kids liked it. I substituted 1c. of applesauce for 1c. of the beets because I didn't have that many beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe! Thanks so much. I did add more chocolate. The texture was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great! Five smallish beets from CSA made a 3/4 recipe (perfect amount for 4 small bread pans). I nuked the beets until soft, then blended them with enough water to make a thick puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States