Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Outstanding taste & texture! I roasted, peeled, diced and pureed fresh beets; about 5-6 were used of varying sizes. I added an additional 2 T. cocoa powder as others suggested. I added 1 t. of creme de cacao liquer because it's Christmastime and I felt festive! I made a hard chocolate glaze and again added 2 T. creme de cacao to the glaze. Let the cake sit overnight, had a "test slice" this morning, and was very pleased! It tastes dark chocolate-ty, and feels velvety in the mouth. Will bring some to a family dinner on Christmas Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I heard about Beet Bundt Cake from a Polish friend. This is the first recipe for it that I've found and just had to try it. It was delicious and not at all what I expected. I am not a fan of beets and you cannot taste the beets at all. It tastes like a rich, chocolate cake. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and used canned, sliced beets that I mashed and drizzled a cream cheese frosting thinned with milk on the top. My whole family loved it and devoured it almost in one sitting! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This cake is amazing - I was a little hesitant to make a cake with beets, but it was a huge success, nobody even knew there were beets in it until I told them, definitely a keeper. (The cake takes on more of the chocolate taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Krista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I am not a beet fan, but this was kinda amazing. I had to buy one of those crazy "Magic Bullets" to make sure i could chop up the beets, but it was oh-so-worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was very plain, bland - my family didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwulleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Maine, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Truly Delicious! I would like to cut out some of the butter next time to make it a bit healthier, we'll see what happens. I used WW flour and 1 1/2 oz 85% cacao chocolate. It was moist and very rich. Loved it and will make it for friends next time! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised with this cake. No one could guess the 'secret' ingredient and they were surprised when I told them it was beets. This is not a sweet cake so the confectioners sugar on top is perfect. Chocolate syrup would also work. Stays very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I'm torn on this review. This cake was a lot of work, very tedious. It smelled amazing (well, until the end when it smelled like it was burning, but still gooey in the middle). My coworkers loved it with the fresh raspberry glaze I made. I didn't care for it. I needed a good way to use up all the beets I'd been getting from my CSA crop share. I'll probably just cook and eat them with dinners instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Turned out very nice and moist. I added 2 tbsp cocoa powder as others recommended and replaced 2/3 cup of white flour with spelt flour. My son that dislikes his veggies, loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2kayak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I mess with recipes and this was no exception. My brother told me not to next time. I added a raspberry center and it was great. Half part jam & half part berries. Added extra sweetness. Also, I used 1/3cup plus 3T of coco powder & 1/8 c oil (as suggested by reviewer) I liked the extra cocoa flavor. I was trying to avoid anyone detecting the beets. Everyone said they loved it, and no one said they could taste the beets. I didn't tell them until after eating it. I'm pumped. One brother even told me to make it for our thanksgiving get together. I prob will but prob not with the jam. I liked the flavor, but not the added sweetness. Also put bout half a bag of chocolate chips in, which I won't next time. Didn't care for the hardness of the chips. I used the Ganache here on this site as well, and it was WONDERFUL. Together they tasted like worm fudge raspberry cake. I blend butter, sugar, eggs, beets, vanilla & oil in the blinder, then mix this in with the dry ingredient. If done right, this recipe is perfect, so I give this a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flatwoods, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States