Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Wonderful cake; moist and delicious! No one can believe it has beets in it. I add 1 - 2 tbsp cocoa powder and sometimes 1 c. chocolate chips. (We are a chocolate-oriented family!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I made cupcakes cause I don't have a bundt pan, and I also added chocolates chips and baked for 25 mins. I saw the colour of the batter, and tasted it and panicked! What can I say? I was worried it wouldn't be chocolatey enough, so I added the chips, but they turned out great. The cake itself is very moist, and light. Can't complain really. I will probably add cocoa powder next time though as other have suggested. Don't let the batter colour fool you though, they come out a nice dark chocolate colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
How this cake received so many good reviews is a total mystery! Maybe these cooks have never tried a good chocolate zucchini cake. I followed the recipe exactly and the outside of the cake was crumbly and the inside was gummy and the flavor was just odd. It was a waste of ingredients and ended up being thrown out. It was messy to prepare and I won't be making it again. Chocolate zucchini is far superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I love this cake and the only reason I only give it 4 stars is because it has been adapted a little based on other reviews. I only used 1 cup of sugar, added an extra 2 T cocoa powder, roasted the beets instead of boiling them, and used 1 cup carrots for one of the cups of beets because the first time I made this you could definitely taste beets. Now it simply tastes like an amazingly moist chocolate cake. I think next time I might try to incorporate some coconut...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This cake was delicious. You couldn't really tell that there were beets in it (not that that would be a bad thing). I used about 1/2 c of whole wheat flour, which gave it an interesting taste but did make it drier. I also added chocolate chips and simple homemade frosting--I'm sure that has something to do with why you can't taste the beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Pretty good! I made cupcakes and baked them for 25 minutes. I couldn't taste the beets but my sister could. (Although, I told her about them beforehand.) My kids both ate them and loved them. I frosted with cream cheese icing. I also added the 2TBL of cocoa, don't know if it helped but figured it wouldn't hurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Leafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was good. I mean, chocolate can't ever be bad, can it? But after the glowing reviews, I'd expected something really sensational. This is novel because of the beets but by no means the best chocolate cake I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Mine wasn't as moist as I had hoped it would be. And there was not a very strong chocolate taste. Next time I will tweek it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a GREAT cake! Not too sweet like some cakes are and very very moist. I used fresh beets since i had an abundance and topped with cream cheese frosting instead of powdered sugar. I only wish it would have maintained that dark red color after baking.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Fantastic recipe! We received a lot of beets from our CSA, and I had already made beet soup and was trying to figure out what to do with them. I was pleasantly surprised when this cake turned out to taste just like chocolate cake and nothing else. The batter does turn a lovely mauve color, but don't worry...it all comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdesrochers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States