Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great recipe. Everyone that tried it couldn't believe there are beets in it. The minor changes I made were just because I wanted to use what I had on hand: light brown sugar instead of dark, and dark chocolate chips instead of semisweet. It was amazingly moist and delicious--I normally don't like chocolate cake but THIS is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Awesome cake - extremely moist - great way to use up beets! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This cake is very good. Moist, chocolatey and has a nice texture. I have been cooking large batches of beets from the vegetable garden, pureeing and freezing in 2-cup containers for use when making this cake. Just thaw overnight in the fridge and they're ready to go. Everyone I have served this cake to loves it. My husband especially likes it with ganache drizzled over the top. I like it just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lylastarr2
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Wow, really good recipe! I could not tell there were beets in this and I DON'T like beets so I would have noticed. I did replace 1/4c flour with unsweetened cocoa and had probably closer to 1 1/2c beets than 2. It was very magenta before baking but it smelled like chocolate. After baking it looked just like a chocolate cake, very dense but moist. Some people said it was too sweet, but I didn't want a bread-like, light and healthy cake, I wanted a real cake so the sugar was just fine. I wish it had frosting though, next time I will add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lylastarr2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I rarely write review but felt compelled to write one for this recipe. My CSA box always has lots of beets late in the summer and this year was no exception. My 3 year old, my 6 year old, and my husband all LOVED this recipe which I made into cupcakes. The children begged me for some "cupcakes" everyday. No once can tell what is in it! I only used 1 cup of sugar, I used half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour, and I added 2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder as one reviewer suggested. I've made plenty of recipes where I "hide" veggies and other whole grains into food and this is by far the best response I've received from my family so far. Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Generally "ok". A very healthy type cake. My husband liked it as he isn't into creamy or overly sweet cakes. I think I may have overbeat the ingredients as it did say to mix well. Although moist, it was a little dense. I will attempt it once more yet with double the chocolate or maybe a little more sugar. The beet taste is there, very faint, but not unpleasant at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
By far the worst cake I've ever tasted. The beet flavor did not bake out, and I could barely taste the chocolate. I tried it as a "trial run" a week before my daughter's birthday, and I'm so glad I did. I'm used to using odd vegetable puree in recipes (ie, avocado in chocolate muffins) so I didn't question the 13 5-star reviews this recipe had gotten. And yes, I followed the recipe TO A T. Truly wretched taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
OM MY! THIS WAS AWESOME! To save myself some time, I used three cans (15 oz.) of sliced beets and mashed them. It produced about 2 1/2 cups. I only used two cups as the recipe indicated. The aroma while the cake was baking was out of this world. I did follow the rest of the recipe to a tee. It DOES come out very moist. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this as my birthday cake and it was awesome! I used some delicious irish butter and monstrous organic beets that weighed in at over a pound each. After pureeing the beets I still had quite a bit left over so I guess when using fresh beets you need two pounds or less to make two cups of beet puree. Instead of dusting with confectioner's sugar I glazed it with a recipe from this website for Wine Glaze and served it with fresh raspberries, so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I made this with three cups of beets instead of two and you could taste the beets a little. Next time, I will use only two cups. This cake turned out really moist and yummy. I also only used 1 cup of sugar and it was sweet enough. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States