Beet Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Great recipe, especially if you do not use canned beets. I drizzled ganache over it. one of my friends, who hates beets, actually ate the cake. After I told her the secret ingredient was beets, she claimed that there was a hint of beet flavor BUT SHE ATE THE CAKE!! -Paula Akbari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I'm giving this recipe a 5 because honestly it was delicious! As I was cooking the beets for this I realized even more just how much I really hate the smell of them and the thought of eating them. You really cannot taste the beets in this. Even my little niece/nephew just ate it like regular cake. The onlyyy thing I did different than the exact recipe was add a couple tablespoons cocoa powder as suggested by other people. There's a lot of butter in here so next time i'll see if I can do something about it. But if you have beets and don't want them this is a great way to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by parduemc
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is the perfect cake,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parduemc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I tweaked this slightly since I didn't have any unsweet chocolate - I simply used 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and mixed it into the melted butter then blended it until smooth with the beets - the beets were to dry to puree nicely....this was a great way to use up beets that we got from our CSA - none of my family really likes beets but we ALL (including the 2 year old) LOVED this cake - definitely going to make this again - thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Followed the recipe using exactly 2 cans of sliced beets and made cupcakes, baking for 13-16 minutes. Topped them with a cream cheese frosting and these came out perfect! Everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Added 2 tbsp of cocoa powder as recommended by others. Simply amazing!!! Quite possibly the best chocolate cake ever. Beets and all :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
A great way to disguise adding beets to your families diet. I had 2 cans of beets to use, so I pureed them with my blender. The cake was very moist and stayed that way for days. My DH and FIL do not like beets prepared any way. They both ate the cake and really enjoyed it, although they thought it needed some type of chocolate frosting. I did not tell them what it was until after the cake was gone. They were both surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very pleased! Got beets into my 4-year old! I converted it to gluten-free (added 1 egg, 1 tsp xanthan gum, tsp baking powder) b/c of food allergies and then I made a cream cheese frosting colored pink with a TBSP of beet puree (for Valentine's Day). I must also say that drying out is a big problem with gluten-free and this cake stayed beautifully moist for 4 days, which is how long it took till it was gone! A big pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Just OK. I needed to do something with all the beets that we had from our garden, and the kids are reluctant to eat them. So, I slipped them into this cake and didn't tell them. They ate it, and said it was just OK. I'd say that it's not really worth the effort, unless you're desperate to get some beets into your diet any way you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States