Beet, Bean and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I usually don't try recipes that aren't already rated. This was just ok. Unusual but just ok. It seemed to be missing something but I don't know what. I dont't know if I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Unique, and a good way to use up the can of beets you bought on a whim. Although it was good, I agree with the other reviewer that something seemed missing. Green bean salads often have diced onion and a bit of sugar--maybe that's it? (I'd test the theory but my husband liked it fine as is, so it's almost gone.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I added a small chopped onion and some fresh ground pepper and it was a good blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Not bad. I want to try with green apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! Very light, healthy, and easy to make. I changed it up a bit though. I used fresh green beans and cut them up. I thought they added a nice healthy crunch. I also used a Gala apple instead because that was all I had. I thought it added a nice sweetness. I also read the other reviews and decided to add some white onion also, which I thought helped kick it up a bit. I would definately make this again. I also added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I took others' advice and added onion, and would recommend using steamed fresh green beans rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very Tasty, had french style, I cut in half from can,drained, added fresh chopped cabbage, was out of onions,will try that next time,salt,pepper.I like it for its versatility on what's on hand, Thanks!!! Very Addicting, there were no left overs..LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRONGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was pretty good. I thought it needed something before I started. I added minced onion, fresh green beans par boiled instead of canned, and chopped walnuts. To the dressing I added a clove of garlic, pepper, and a little Stevia. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
The salad should definitely be made with fresh or frozen, par boiled green beans. I made it exacty as written an I 100% agree it is "missing something". I will try adding onion to my left overs and see if it works. My husband and daughter took a taste and then did not eat any of the rest of it. If it works with the onion, it would be a good low calorie, healthy salad. It is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is a great side dish for those who are on a low fat/low carb. diet. I didn't add the oil and I didn't have granny smith's so I just used sweet apples and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Piccioni-Hann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States