Beet and Pear Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is so decadent, especially with all the butter. Absolutely delicious. I threw it in the blender and pureed it, to be served as a tasting soup. I loved it, my little picky 4 1/2 year olds, were- well picky. That's ok, when they are older they will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious. Easy to make even with a toddler competing for the attention. Substituted apple cider vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Quite good. I served it with chicken but it would probably work better with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I never liked beets before. I found this recipe because I needed to bring a red dish to a True Blood themed party. I LOVE this now, and am making it for Thanksgiving too. (For True Blood lovers: I call it Talbot Salad, and it gets served in a tall ornate glass candy dish like what Russell kept him in. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Our family loves beets so I decided to try this for Thanksgiving. I couldn't believe this little dish calls for 5oz of butter. That seemed a LOT to me so I reduced it to about 1oz and it still turned out great. One suggestion: serve it with a bit of horseradish. Mix it in with beets and the taste is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
What a great way to serve beets! This was delicious. I like the chunky texture, not completely pureed. I used raspberry vinegar and served it with baked salmon, kale and basmati rice. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was okay, I guess. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
EXCELLENT! started cooking at 6:45am and glad i did...i doubled the recipe for a dinner party tonight and helped myself to some for breakfast - it is that good! i'm sure my company is going to devour it. i am thinking of toasting some walnuts to sprinkle on top to add another layer of both texture and flavor, however, if i don't get around to it, no big deal. it is great just the way it is. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I was intrigued by the reviews & am so glad I tried this! The combination of flavors and the way they blend together is amazing. I had to make a few substitutions: couldn't find a vidalia onion so I used a sweet onion (not a regular yellow onion). I also couldn't find cranberry vinegar, thought I had some raspberry vinegar at home but didn't, so I used balsamic. And in place of butter I used a Smart Balance 50/50 stick (half butter, half SB) to cut back on the fat. Otherwise I followed the recipe. This is a very unique side dish, very rich, wonderful texture, and you can taste the different flavors as you eat it, but in a subtle way, as they meld together beautifully. Finally, I thought it a shame to toss the beautiful greens from my beets, so I found a recipe for beet greens & got another side dish out of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Wow! This is good stuff! It's tart, it's sweet it's rich...I understand the other reviewers saying they couldn't stay away from it. I used less butter, but if you're making it for a special occassion, go for the full amount, it really adds to the flavor. I had beets I'd cooked earlier in the week. I couldn't find cranberry vinegar (I really wonder what it is like--I'll keep looking), so used cider vinegar. I don't have a food processor, so I cooked the onions and pears in a saucepan and after adding the beets used an immersion blender. I tried to be careful, but there was still a little beet splatter! Aside from the mess, the blender worked well to get the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States