Beet and Pear Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I never write reviews but this is so good! I would put it on just about anything or just eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is so decadent, especially with all the butter. Absolutely delicious. I threw it in the blender and pureed it, to be served as a tasting soup. I loved it, my little picky 4 1/2 year olds, were- well picky. That's ok, when they are older they will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious. Easy to make even with a toddler competing for the attention. Substituted apple cider vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Quite good. I served it with chicken but it would probably work better with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I never liked beets before. I found this recipe because I needed to bring a red dish to a True Blood themed party. I LOVE this now, and am making it for Thanksgiving too. (For True Blood lovers: I call it Talbot Salad, and it gets served in a tall ornate glass candy dish like what Russell kept him in. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Our family loves beets so I decided to try this for Thanksgiving. I couldn't believe this little dish calls for 5oz of butter. That seemed a LOT to me so I reduced it to about 1oz and it still turned out great. One suggestion: serve it with a bit of horseradish. Mix it in with beets and the taste is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
What a great way to serve beets! This was delicious. I like the chunky texture, not completely pureed. I used raspberry vinegar and served it with baked salmon, kale and basmati rice. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was okay, I guess. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
EXCELLENT! started cooking at 6:45am and glad i did...i doubled the recipe for a dinner party tonight and helped myself to some for breakfast - it is that good! i'm sure my company is going to devour it. i am thinking of toasting some walnuts to sprinkle on top to add another layer of both texture and flavor, however, if i don't get around to it, no big deal. it is great just the way it is. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I was intrigued by the reviews & am so glad I tried this! The combination of flavors and the way they blend together is amazing. I had to make a few substitutions: couldn't find a vidalia onion so I used a sweet onion (not a regular yellow onion). I also couldn't find cranberry vinegar, thought I had some raspberry vinegar at home but didn't, so I used balsamic. And in place of butter I used a Smart Balance 50/50 stick (half butter, half SB) to cut back on the fat. Otherwise I followed the recipe. This is a very unique side dish, very rich, wonderful texture, and you can taste the different flavors as you eat it, but in a subtle way, as they meld together beautifully. Finally, I thought it a shame to toss the beautiful greens from my beets, so I found a recipe for beet greens & got another side dish out of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Celery Root and Potato Puree

See what earthy celery root does for basic mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States