Beet and Pear Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I'm just a simple country girl, so this unusual combination of flavors and food was a stretch for me and my BF. Our little grocery store didn't have cranberry vinegar, but I did have balsamaic raspberry vinegar, which I used. I tried it after it was first pureed, and couldn't decide. The flavor was unique, but not unpleasant. I let it come to room temp while I made the rest of our meal, and sampled it again and then couldn't stop "sampling". I really, really like this (BF is still unsure). This is not your mother's canned beets! This is a "impress your friends and family" recipe. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
If you can try only one new recipe this year, be sure to try this one! I was invited to some friends house a couple of days ago for Easter dinner. I don't know why, but they said earlier they were going to serve turkey and that was just fine with me because it finally gave me a good reason to try this fantastic side dish. Everyone--including me--thought it was simply wonderful. It is far too good for any king or queen who ever lived. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledareya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Netarts, Oregon, USA
Photo by squawk93
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is the perfect complement to roast pork, chicken, or turkey. So pretty on the plate. A nice alternative for those of us who don't like cranberry sauce. You can easily double or triple this recipe for larger crowds. I kept mine warm in a double boiler while I got the rest of the dinner together. Update: I made this again last year and loved it just as much as ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe is so good! I really didn't think I liked beets. I had to use brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. It was great on the fish that I cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I could not stop eating this. And it's absolutely gorgeous on the holiday table. (Just don't let any drip on your white tablecloth.) This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I was intrigued by the reviews & am so glad I tried this! The combination of flavors and the way they blend together is amazing. I had to make a few substitutions: couldn't find a vidalia onion so I used a sweet onion (not a regular yellow onion). I also couldn't find cranberry vinegar, thought I had some raspberry vinegar at home but didn't, so I used balsamic. And in place of butter I used a Smart Balance 50/50 stick (half butter, half SB) to cut back on the fat. Otherwise I followed the recipe. This is a very unique side dish, very rich, wonderful texture, and you can taste the different flavors as you eat it, but in a subtle way, as they meld together beautifully. Finally, I thought it a shame to toss the beautiful greens from my beets, so I found a recipe for beet greens & got another side dish out of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This lick-smacking delicacy goes perfectly with pork! The color and texture are to-die-for and the flavors marry beautifully. Wow your family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
EXCELLENT! started cooking at 6:45am and glad i did...i doubled the recipe for a dinner party tonight and helped myself to some for breakfast - it is that good! i'm sure my company is going to devour it. i am thinking of toasting some walnuts to sprinkle on top to add another layer of both texture and flavor, however, if i don't get around to it, no big deal. it is great just the way it is. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Made an excellent side, as well as an interesting cracker dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very easy, and very good. Loved the texture, the beautiful, amazing color on the plate, and the blend of savory beet and subtle pear sweetness. Be warned, it's very rich for a side dish. Definitely something for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States