Beet and Pear Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
If you can try only one new recipe this year, be sure to try this one! I was invited to some friends house a couple of days ago for Easter dinner. I don't know why, but they said earlier they were going to serve turkey and that was just fine with me because it finally gave me a good reason to try this fantastic side dish. Everyone--including me--thought it was simply wonderful. It is far too good for any king or queen who ever lived. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledareya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Netarts, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Made an excellent side, as well as an interesting cracker dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe is so good! I really didn't think I liked beets. I had to use brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. It was great on the fish that I cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it. It was great the second day. My only fault was the preparation took longer then expected but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Excellent. It's like a fresh twist on pickled beets. Sweet, tangy, and yummy. I really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I'm just a simple country girl, so this unusual combination of flavors and food was a stretch for me and my BF. Our little grocery store didn't have cranberry vinegar, but I did have balsamaic raspberry vinegar, which I used. I tried it after it was first pureed, and couldn't decide. The flavor was unique, but not unpleasant. I let it come to room temp while I made the rest of our meal, and sampled it again and then couldn't stop "sampling". I really, really like this (BF is still unsure). This is not your mother's canned beets! This is a "impress your friends and family" recipe. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This lick-smacking delicacy goes perfectly with pork! The color and texture are to-die-for and the flavors marry beautifully. Wow your family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very easy, and very good. Loved the texture, the beautiful, amazing color on the plate, and the blend of savory beet and subtle pear sweetness. Be warned, it's very rich for a side dish. Definitely something for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I could not stop eating this. And it's absolutely gorgeous on the holiday table. (Just don't let any drip on your white tablecloth.) This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by squawk93
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is the perfect complement to roast pork, chicken, or turkey. So pretty on the plate. A nice alternative for those of us who don't like cranberry sauce. You can easily double or triple this recipe for larger crowds. I kept mine warm in a double boiler while I got the rest of the dinner together. Update: I made this again last year and loved it just as much as ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Celery Root and Potato Puree

See what earthy celery root does for basic mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States