Beet and Cheddar Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Very easy to make. Turned out exactly like the picture shows. My husband couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've made this many times over the last few years and it never fails to be spectacular. I've done it both with blending the beets and just leaving them in chunks--both are good, just depends on whether you like to eat the chunks. I tend to use more vegetable broth than water to give the risotto more flavor. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Maybe it was the cheese I used but this tasted like overpowering cheddar and nothing else. It wasn't even a sharp cheddar! I was very disappointed with the outcome. I followed the recipe to the letter. It was creamy and looked pretty but otherwise it just didn't deliver. I'm really sorry I can't rate this recipe higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I left out some of the cheese and was glad I did. Also, I had a very, very hard time getting past the way this looked...to me it looked like raw meat on my plate. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I would give this recipe a 5 except it does require a good bit of prep time cutting and mincing, and ALOT of stirring and standing by the pan. Other than that, excellent and not too difficult to make. Even my kids who are SUPER picky (I mean only mac n cheese or grilled cheese for them) will eat this. It is one of the very few things I can make that everyone will eat. This gets devoured at our house. I use mild cheddar, and don't add salt or pepper - I let everyone do their own salt if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I did enjoy this however it wasn't amazing. The beet flavor was there but I don't know how well the beet and cheese complimented each other. Tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Excellent with a few modifications: brown rice (so I cooked an hour with 7 cups liquid, simmering one cup at a time), shredded beets/greens, and a touch of butter and lemon juice at the very end. Also, the cheese isn't needed at all, just put a little parmesan on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I just made this--soo delicious! This was my first time cooking beets so it was messy and difficult to remove the skin but totally worth it in the end. I didn't have a food processor so I just diced the beets. I also didn't use the greens, still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I took this to a pot-luck of a bunch of vegetable eaters and got a shout out for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
let me first say i hate beets but my mom likes them so i thought i'd try this. It was fantastic!!! i can't believe how much i liked this recipe. the only problem was that i thought the rice was a bit over-cooked (but that might be my fault). next time i'll reduce the water to just one cup and simmer for only 10 minutes. overall though this is so original and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States