Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
This was very good, kind of like banana bread without the bananas. My stove is broken, so I baked this in my barbecue and it came out great! I used Wassail (Full Sail brewery) which added some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This was very tasty. I added a frosting made of powdered sugar, butter, frangelico, vanilla, and milk - my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
wow...this cake was really moist and soft!! It's also very simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
AWESOME!! This was super easy to make and really moist and delicious. I am a college student & all I had in the fridge was Bud Light, but it didn't matter, it still tasted super good! My boyfriend and his office mates loved it! (I doubled the recipe and added an egg to make the mix smoother)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Great recipe. Lite, full of flavor, and best of all easy to make, using simple ingredients. I made cupcakes and baked them for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I did not have brown sugar so I substituted white sugar. I put 2 eggs instead of 1. I did not have ground cloves or allspice so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. I did not have walnuts so I put 1/2 cup chopped pecans. I brought this to work and it did not last long. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Santa Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This cake was fabulous! I used Sam Adams' seasonal Pumpkin Ale (which added a great flavor) and topped with canned cream cheese frosting. My husband and co-workers loved it. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Unity, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallup, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
this recipe lived up to all its rave reviews! It was so easy to make and I couldn't believe how fluffy and moist it was. I cooked it in nine inch rounds instead of a loaf pan to make a layer cake that was iced with cinnamon butter cream frosting, toasted coconut and chopped walnuts. The brown ale I used added a great flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I just made this cake and my apartment is full of the lovely aroma of spice!! i make all cakes in my food processor, with this recipe I dumped all ingredients (except for nuts) in at once and whizzed it together. I folded in nuts by hand. Turned out A++ moist and light. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Yummy! Came out great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States