Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made these into cupcakes... found that they were very moist and tasted awesome. Even when the recipe was doubled and made in one batch Lots of complements on them. Paired it with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
With the positive reviews, couldn't resist trying. I was lacking cloves, so I used nutmeg,it turned out great. I also frosted it with vanilla buttercream frosting, it would also be good with a dusting of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This cake gave the house a great aroma and the taste was good, however it turned out too crumbly. I topped it with cream cheese icing and that helped with the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is WONDERFUL! I used pumpkin ale and baked it in a bunt pan at 325 for about 40 minutes turning it every 10 minutes. I also put a powdered suger glaze made with orange juice over it. This was a hit at work! I will keep this recipes close by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Yummy! Came out great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I just made this cake and my apartment is full of the lovely aroma of spice!! i make all cakes in my food processor, with this recipe I dumped all ingredients (except for nuts) in at once and whizzed it together. I folded in nuts by hand. Turned out A++ moist and light. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Very good! I used a good brown ale and instead of the cinnamon, allspice and cloves, I used 2 teaspoons of Apple Pie Spice (its a mixture of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
this recipe lived up to all its rave reviews! It was so easy to make and I couldn't believe how fluffy and moist it was. I cooked it in nine inch rounds instead of a loaf pan to make a layer cake that was iced with cinnamon butter cream frosting, toasted coconut and chopped walnuts. The brown ale I used added a great flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This cake was fabulous! I used Sam Adams' seasonal Pumpkin Ale (which added a great flavor) and topped with canned cream cheese frosting. My husband and co-workers loved it. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Unity, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallup, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
My husband really loved this. I added raisins because, to me, everything tastes better with raisins. It was very moist. Make sure to use a beer that tastes good. I learned that the hard way from a recipe for beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States