Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I admit I pretty much chose this recipe in the fun and spirit of The Super Bowl but man-oh-man, was I in for a surprise. I baked this as cupcakes - they're not just ok, they're excellent, and NOT "considering they have beer in them," but maybe BECAUSE they have beer in them! Maybe the beer is the reason they're so light, fluffy, moist and deliciously spicy. I used Guiness Draught, and even using a heavy, robust beer such as that, it was not apparent or overkill at all. I baked them about 20 minutes, and topped them with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site. It was the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is WONDERFUL! I used pumpkin ale and baked it in a bunt pan at 325 for about 40 minutes turning it every 10 minutes. I also put a powdered suger glaze made with orange juice over it. This was a hit at work! I will keep this recipes close by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
this recipe lived up to all its rave reviews! It was so easy to make and I couldn't believe how fluffy and moist it was. I cooked it in nine inch rounds instead of a loaf pan to make a layer cake that was iced with cinnamon butter cream frosting, toasted coconut and chopped walnuts. The brown ale I used added a great flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were nice and fluffy but without frosting, be warned that for a cake these were not sweet at all. However, paired with the "allspice cream cheese frosting" they were quite delicious. Maybe next time I'll add a little white sugar next time. I also doubled the recipe and it made 30 cupcakes baked at 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMiriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
i fixed this recipe with the "allspice cream cheese frosing" recipe also on this site and it was wonderful. watch the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I enjoyed this cake...I put it in a bundt pan and cooked it at 325 degrees for forty minutes, as another reviewer suggested. If I were to use a bundt pan again, I would probably increase the recipe by 50% to make a fuller cake. I dusted the cake with powdered sugar and served it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made these into cupcakes... found that they were very moist and tasted awesome. Even when the recipe was doubled and made in one batch Lots of complements on them. Paired it with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
My husband really loved this. I added raisins because, to me, everything tastes better with raisins. It was very moist. Make sure to use a beer that tastes good. I learned that the hard way from a recipe for beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Moist and full of spice! This cake was good - not outstanding. My boyfriend asked if there were bananas in it... he thought it tasted more like a heavily-spiced banana bread, vs just a regular spice cake. He is enjoying it - topped with a velvety cream cheese frosting. Not a recipe I'll go back to often, unless SPICE is the name of the game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Followed exactly. Made cupcakes - made 15, baked about 18 minutes. Moist and yummy. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States