Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was very good, in spite of the way I prepared it! I used my bread machine's "quick bread" cycle, just because I was too lazy to haul out the mixer, (the bread machine was out on the counter) and the batter did not mix properly. I wound up beating it by hand. In spite of this, the cake turned out really well. The children loved it served with vanilla ice cream. I used brown ale, which went really well with the spice blend. This one is now in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I did not have brown sugar so I substituted white sugar. I put 2 eggs instead of 1. I did not have ground cloves or allspice so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. I did not have walnuts so I put 1/2 cup chopped pecans. I brought this to work and it did not last long. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Santa Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Great recipe. Lite, full of flavor, and best of all easy to make, using simple ingredients. I made cupcakes and baked them for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
AWESOME!! This was super easy to make and really moist and delicious. I am a college student & all I had in the fridge was Bud Light, but it didn't matter, it still tasted super good! My boyfriend and his office mates loved it! (I doubled the recipe and added an egg to make the mix smoother)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
wow...this cake was really moist and soft!! It's also very simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This was very tasty. I added a frosting made of powdered sugar, butter, frangelico, vanilla, and milk - my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
i fixed this recipe with the "allspice cream cheese frosing" recipe also on this site and it was wonderful. watch the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
This was very good, kind of like banana bread without the bananas. My stove is broken, so I baked this in my barbecue and it came out great! I used Wassail (Full Sail brewery) which added some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States