Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was just ok. was quite dry. Novelty cake for fathers day maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly. Used Great Lakes Holy Moses White Ale which is a Belgian spiced ale and made cupcakes...they were great. Spicy with some "zinginess." =) They ONLY change I might make next time is slightly less clove. Like 3/4 tsp instead of 1 tsp. It was every-so-slightly overbearing. But really, a minor complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made these into cupcakes... found that they were very moist and tasted awesome. Even when the recipe was doubled and made in one batch Lots of complements on them. Paired it with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
With the positive reviews, couldn't resist trying. I was lacking cloves, so I used nutmeg,it turned out great. I also frosted it with vanilla buttercream frosting, it would also be good with a dusting of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This cake gave the house a great aroma and the taste was good, however it turned out too crumbly. I topped it with cream cheese icing and that helped with the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is WONDERFUL! I used pumpkin ale and baked it in a bunt pan at 325 for about 40 minutes turning it every 10 minutes. I also put a powdered suger glaze made with orange juice over it. This was a hit at work! I will keep this recipes close by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Yummy! Came out great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I just made this cake and my apartment is full of the lovely aroma of spice!! i make all cakes in my food processor, with this recipe I dumped all ingredients (except for nuts) in at once and whizzed it together. I folded in nuts by hand. Turned out A++ moist and light. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Very good! I used a good brown ale and instead of the cinnamon, allspice and cloves, I used 2 teaspoons of Apple Pie Spice (its a mixture of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
this recipe lived up to all its rave reviews! It was so easy to make and I couldn't believe how fluffy and moist it was. I cooked it in nine inch rounds instead of a loaf pan to make a layer cake that was iced with cinnamon butter cream frosting, toasted coconut and chopped walnuts. The brown ale I used added a great flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States