Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I enjoyed this cake...I put it in a bundt pan and cooked it at 325 degrees for forty minutes, as another reviewer suggested. If I were to use a bundt pan again, I would probably increase the recipe by 50% to make a fuller cake. I dusted the cake with powdered sugar and served it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This cake was awesome. I was very scared to make a cake from scratch like this, but it was wonderful. Made this for my husband's birthday and he LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teaspoonchic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was just delicious. Will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLY1023

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I made this cake for my Daddy's birthday. The aroma of the cake was wonderful! I made it as a bunt and used a basic vanilla glaze on top- the only change I made was that I didn't have Allspice and instead used nutmeg-- I'll try it next time with Allspice. I also absentmindedly flipped my cake before it cooled and the top remained in the bunt, oops!-- besides that it was a very moist spicy cake. I will try adding nuts or golden raisins, etc when I make this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeannamontana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Delicious and easy to make--very moist cake! It's a new favorite for us as people that don't usually like cake. I only had whole spices so had to improvise by crushing them myself which made them a little chunky in the batter, but we actually liked the little bits of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
wow this cake is amazing!!!!! i made it for my mother, and it's pretty hard finding a cake that she likes, but she loved this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are FANTASTIC!! Just took them out of the oven and had one and man I'm just going to have to hide them from myself!! I baked them in a mini muffin pan and it came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~susakins~

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! Made with Rogue's Santa's Private Reserve and used William Sonoma's Gingerbread Man Cakelet pan - made approx. 15 Gingerbread Men Cakelets. Cooked for 15 min - perfect! So very light and ultra moist and tasty! Will try in other forms next (loaf, cupcakes) since I only have one cakelet pan! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Haven, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was just ok. was quite dry. Novelty cake for fathers day maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly. Used Great Lakes Holy Moses White Ale which is a Belgian spiced ale and made cupcakes...they were great. Spicy with some "zinginess." =) They ONLY change I might make next time is slightly less clove. Like 3/4 tsp instead of 1 tsp. It was every-so-slightly overbearing. But really, a minor complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States