Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The flavor of this cake is outstanding! I cut the cloves back by 1/4 teaspoon but in the end, I think I could have used the whole teaspoon. I had to double this recipe to make enough to make two 9" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. Doubled it made 32 cupcakes. The instructions list walnuts, which the recipe does not -- I think they'd be a good addition but I didn't use them this time (mostly because I didn't know the recipe called for them). This tastes a little bit like carrot cake, with a fantastic light texture. In fact this may become my new carrot cake base because I like the texture so much better! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
i like it alot i used a pumpkin beer it work fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious! I made it with Sam Adams Winter Lager and substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice for the allspice, since I didn't have any pure allspice. (Pumpkin Pie Spice contains cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice). The flavors turned out PERFECTLY. Just make sure not to de-pan it too early. I removed it from the pan after 10 minutes, and half of it fell apart. :-/ Still tastes great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made this for a company potluck, no leftovers! If you make it in a Bundt pan, I suggest doubling the recipe. I made a simple drizzle frosting with confectioner's sugar and water, it didn't need anything else. I also used a breakfast oatmeal stout for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
YUM!! These had great flavor and spice! I made cupcakes, but baked them just a bit too long. Next time I will make sure I don't overbake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious! I followed recipe exactly (minus nuts) and it came out fantastic. I doubled the recipe and it made about 5.5 cups of batter, so I made a regular 9X13 cake with 7 cupcakes. I tried a cupcake fresh from the oven and the taste was awesome! I intend to frost with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
DELICIOUS! and SMELLS WONDERFUL TOO! I used a homebrew we had made, it was a dark Australian ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were nice and fluffy but without frosting, be warned that for a cake these were not sweet at all. However, paired with the "allspice cream cheese frosting" they were quite delicious. Maybe next time I'll add a little white sugar next time. I also doubled the recipe and it made 30 cupcakes baked at 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMiriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Followed exactly. Made cupcakes - made 15, baked about 18 minutes. Moist and yummy. Frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States