Beer Simmered Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was so good and simple. going to use it during office outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Nice side and good change from sweet baked beans. Sauteed a little onion and chopped country ham. Added beans, dried tabasco pepper, and chopped green sweet pepper with other ingredients. Instead of beer, I've made this with a half cup or so of picante sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tasty! I like topping my beans with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This wasn't as spicy as I expected but a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
So bitter! I made the recipe exactly as stated and it was bitter. I know it's because of the beer, but maybe other cooks could reccommend a particular brand of beer? I tried to salvage this by adding brown sugar, and although it helped a little, the strong bitter aftertaste was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I LOVED this! I went with the dark kidneys to give it different color and I used Miller Lite for the beer. I am not much of a beer drinker anymore but love the flavor and boldness it adds to food. I added raw onion to the top of my beans but that is just something my family did growing up and a habit I don't care to break. I've shied away from can goods here lately but this is one I won't be shying from period. I really enjoyed this. Thank you for sharing SweetBasil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I didnt have the beans stated but I had canneloni beans and black beans and used all the other ingredients as stated. Delicious!!! I have tried to limit my meat intake so I eat a lot of beans and veggies. I used this bean recipe as a buritto stuffing. I added the beans, mexican cheese, cilantro,tomatoes! and a dollop of sour cream. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have to disagree with the other reviews. These beans didn't have a great flavor...they just tasted like beans. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was quick and easy to prepare, and I like all the ingredients that go into it. But it was missing something; red onion might add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made this with Corona beer, and substituted 2 serrano chili peppers for the jalapenos (personal preference -- we just like the flavor they give a little better) thought this was a tasty, flavorful, easy side dish -- a definite keeper! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States