Beer Simmered Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe with just some minor tweaks. A lot of reviewers mentioned that the beer either made the beans taste bitter or tasteless, so I instead used Angry Orchard Crisp Apple Cider. The cider gave the beans a very nice sweetness. I sauteed the onions with a bit of olive oil before adding them to the beans; threw in diced half yellow and red bell peppers, jalapenos, and garlic when the onions became translucent. After a couple of minutes, I combined all the ingredients in a pot and simmered as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
no flavor even with jalpenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Were excited and a total bust. Tried to add some garlic, salt , pepper. nothing helped. threw the left overs out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This is great! If you don't like it hot try adding shredded white radish and a couple of white icicle peppers raw after it simmers. Nice bit of a crunchy texture to complement the firm texture of the beans. And when they're cold a tiny splash of balsamic vinegar brings up the malty beer tones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I'm right there with MOLLE 888 - - when I read their review I thought "HUH??" but sure enough, my batch, too was bitter and like MOLLE, I wondered if it was the type beer. But!! When all else fails - - - add chicken broth - yes that made all the difference in the world, improved the flavor. I didn't care for all the excess liquid and didn't want to cook the daylights out of it so I added a sprinkle of rice - - tada - - beans and rice!! Now I can't get my husband to lay off of it! He'll have it gone before dinner if I'm not careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gagersmedic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
It took me a while to decide I liked this recipe, but when I got to that point I liked it a lot indeed. It seemed to get better over time, too, and I ended up eating it for a few days just cold. No one else in my family was a big fan--it is unusual tasting--but I didn't mind finishing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made this with Corona beer, and substituted 2 serrano chili peppers for the jalapenos (personal preference -- we just like the flavor they give a little better) thought this was a tasty, flavorful, easy side dish -- a definite keeper! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was quick and easy to prepare, and I like all the ingredients that go into it. But it was missing something; red onion might add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have to disagree with the other reviews. These beans didn't have a great flavor...they just tasted like beans. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I didnt have the beans stated but I had canneloni beans and black beans and used all the other ingredients as stated. Delicious!!! I have tried to limit my meat intake so I eat a lot of beans and veggies. I used this bean recipe as a buritto stuffing. I added the beans, mexican cheese, cilantro,tomatoes! and a dollop of sour cream. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States