Beer Roasted Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
4 stars because the chicken is very moist. I didn't get a very strong lime flavor- however, I didn't have any limes. I used lime concentrate and put a lime-soaked onion slice in the cavity. I will try this again, but with lime slices. Also, it didn't get as brown as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I had heard about a recipe similar to this one from the girls at work. No one in my family quite knew what to expect. It was YUMMY! The chicken was very tender! I made some ammendments.. I did not have a lime, but I had lime juice. After I dumped 1/2 the beer in the can, I put about 2 1/2 tbsp of lime juice into the beer can. Also, I had some (about 1/2 c.)lime and herb marinade, so I poured that over the chicken instead of using the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I seasoned my beer and used lemon instead of the lime. Nonetheless, this was incredible. So moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
juicy and moist with crunchy skin yum you can even buy a metal beer can stand at walmart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Christina Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
this was good. I would like a little more lime infused flavor but Im not sure how...I used a bunch of limes. May try and add a little lime concentrate next time also. Easy..I also used fresh cilantro. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Fabulous! Husband and children loved it. The only change I made was adding more lime juice before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This was so moist and yummy. It took a little longer than 90 minutes to cook and I had to add water to the pan, but it was worth the wait. I also made gravy from the drippings. It had a very intense lime smell (not taste), and the end result was a deep brown, intensely flavored gravy which was delicious with the chicken. My kids DID NOT like the gravy, though. This time I made biscuits but next time I will make potatoes for the gravy. Everyone loved it and it had a mild lime taste. Tnanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
We've made a number of beer-can chickens, so I spiced this one up a bit. It turned out great and was probably the best one we've ever done. I made a basic barbecue rub (paprika, salt, pepper, brown sugar, onion and garlic, etc.) and added a bit of chile powder and cumin to the rub as I thought the Mexican spices would go well with the lime juice. I loosened the chicken skin (just dig your fingers in), put the rub under the skin and on the skin, and poured the lime juice under the skin and into the cavity. I stuffed the lime skins in the cavity as directed. I let it sit in the refrigerator for an hour to let it soak up the rub. I opened a can of Really Cheap Beer, poured some out, added some of the rub to it, and lowered the chicken onto it. (We have one of those handy beer can holders from Bed, Bath and Beyond or Linens and Things. They really make the whole process a lot easier.) Instead of putting it in the oven, I put it on our gas grill, set for indirect cooking, and cooked it until it reached 180 degrees--about 2 hours. The skin looked really dry, but the inside was very moist and tender. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I took the foil off after 30 mins because I wanted the skin to be brown and crispy. I was surprised that it wasn't very lime-y, especially as I had sat the chicken breast down in lime juice all day. I should have followed Jenny G's advice and poured some of the juice under the skin. Despite this, the chicken was extremely moist and tender. I will try this again. Thanks, LaQuinna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This chicken turned out great and it was easy to make. I took Jenny B.'s advice and squeezed the lime under the skin and also seasoned with paprika, cumin, garlic, and onion. I took the foil off a little earlier than stated so the skin would brown more. It turned out very moist and tasty with plenty of flavor. This will go into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States