Beer Roasted Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I had heard about a recipe similar to this one from the girls at work. No one in my family quite knew what to expect. It was YUMMY! The chicken was very tender! I made some ammendments.. I did not have a lime, but I had lime juice. After I dumped 1/2 the beer in the can, I put about 2 1/2 tbsp of lime juice into the beer can. Also, I had some (about 1/2 c.)lime and herb marinade, so I poured that over the chicken instead of using the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I seasoned my beer and used lemon instead of the lime. Nonetheless, this was incredible. So moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
juicy and moist with crunchy skin yum you can even buy a metal beer can stand at walmart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Christina Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Fabulous! Husband and children loved it. The only change I made was adding more lime juice before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This was so moist and yummy. It took a little longer than 90 minutes to cook and I had to add water to the pan, but it was worth the wait. I also made gravy from the drippings. It had a very intense lime smell (not taste), and the end result was a deep brown, intensely flavored gravy which was delicious with the chicken. My kids DID NOT like the gravy, though. This time I made biscuits but next time I will make potatoes for the gravy. Everyone loved it and it had a mild lime taste. Tnanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
We've made a number of beer-can chickens, so I spiced this one up a bit. It turned out great and was probably the best one we've ever done. I made a basic barbecue rub (paprika, salt, pepper, brown sugar, onion and garlic, etc.) and added a bit of chile powder and cumin to the rub as I thought the Mexican spices would go well with the lime juice. I loosened the chicken skin (just dig your fingers in), put the rub under the skin and on the skin, and poured the lime juice under the skin and into the cavity. I stuffed the lime skins in the cavity as directed. I let it sit in the refrigerator for an hour to let it soak up the rub. I opened a can of Really Cheap Beer, poured some out, added some of the rub to it, and lowered the chicken onto it. (We have one of those handy beer can holders from Bed, Bath and Beyond or Linens and Things. They really make the whole process a lot easier.) Instead of putting it in the oven, I put it on our gas grill, set for indirect cooking, and cooked it until it reached 180 degrees--about 2 hours. The skin looked really dry, but the inside was very moist and tender. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This chicken turned out great and it was easy to make. I took Jenny B.'s advice and squeezed the lime under the skin and also seasoned with paprika, cumin, garlic, and onion. I took the foil off a little earlier than stated so the skin would brown more. It turned out very moist and tasty with plenty of flavor. This will go into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Wow...I made this three days ago and we are still talking about how good it was! Based on others' suggestions, I decided to insert lime slices between the skin and the meat of the chicken to give it a stronger flavor. I cooked my 6 lb. bird on the BBQ (over a disposible cooking sheet) on medium heat for about 3 hours. Fall-off-the bone delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This recipe was delicious!!I made a herb butter with chopped garlic and some cajun seasoning and spooned it under the skin over the breast. Also used chicken broth instead of water.Turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Out of this world! Also put the lime under the skin and used a brown sugar and garlic rub. Family couldn't get enough!! Chicken fell out the bone. So moist and delicious! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States