Beer Roasted Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This came out really tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Was good. I will make again. The flavoring was a bit dull, and the chicken was moist but needed some extra gravy or spicing. In all very good. The Lime and Beer combination is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was ok, a little bland. I don't think the lime really added anything extra to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgrether

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Awesome flavor and texture! I'll be making this for my next family dinner with the in-laws...and they are picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Many of the previous reviews for this recipe indicate that there is not much flavor. I have been doing Beer can Chicken for a number of years. I use Montreal Steak seasoning. Mix 3 Tbsp. Montreal Steak seasoning and 1 Tbsp. Brown Sugar. Rub the outside of the chicken with butter (I have also sprayed it with cooking spray) Then use about a third of the seasoning mix and rub it all around the INTERIOR of the chicken. Rub the remaining seasoning over the outside of the chicken."Sit" the chicken down over the half can of beer. On the grill, heat the grill, then turn one side off.Set at medium heat. Place the chicken "sitting up" on the side that is off (you can use the legs to form a sort of tripod to keep it up) Close the cover and leave it to cook for 1 1/2 hours. It may need a bit more time. But no more than 2 hours! Remove the sitting chicken from the heat, let it sit 10 minutes then remove it from the can and cut up. This is THE BEST chicken we've ever had!! It is ALWAYS moist and very flavorful! I have made it in the oven as well. You can use soda in the can, but the taste is a little different than with beer. I heard someone say that it is the hops in the beer that infuse the chicken with some of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this on the grill and it turned out very well. I cooked it on low for about 2 1/2 hours. Didn't baste it at all, the skin was crispy and flavorful. The meat didn't have a whole lot of lime flavor to it, but it was -very- moist. I poured lime juice and garlic powder into the beer can... also rubbed the entire chicken down with lime juice, garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I had small Mexican limes, so I managed to fit 2 in the cavity, halved. I also stuck one in the top to keep the steam inside. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
The flavor on this is good, I added lots of extra garlic and onion and did a basic chili spice rub on the outside...But as far as ease goes forget it! I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I couldn't manage to get one beer can to support the weight of a whole chicken...it ended up falling over in the oven about 2 minutes after I put it in, perfectly salvageable because it's now roasting on its back swimming in half a can's worth of beer lol. Only after I tried this recipe did I find out online that they actually make cheap little rack beer/chicken can holders to make these things stand up in the oven...will try again once I've purchased one of those but don't recommend trying without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Just made this, also with a few adjustments. I rubbed the chicken with extra spices on top and under the skin, I added lime slices under the skin too and it was citrus-y enough for me. Squeezed some lime juice and threw a couple garlic cloves in the beer can. Can someone explain to me what the beer does? I didn't detect any beer flavour. I also didn't cover it at all and it came out nice and crispy. Based on all the reviews I put it in for longer, 2 hours, which turned out to be a little too long as it was a bit dry. Special thanks to the girl who expalined what to do with the beer can in an earlier review - I didn't know either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
very moist, but it needed to cook much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The chicken turned out super moist. It could have used a bit more flavour. I'll try adding some more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States