Beer Roasted Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
just made this chicken for the first time. we used an apricot beer, which gave a really nice flavor to the chicken. i also added some garlic, lime juice and maple syrup to the beer, and stuff the chicken with 2 limes. it took longer to cook, maybe 2 hours, but our chicken was pretty big. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I have been making "buzzed bird" for years, but this is the best. I didn't have limes, so I used lemons. My son suggested next time (you bet there will be!) to use both. Since I used lemons, I seasoned with lemon pepper. I guess that makes it Beer Roasted Lemon Chicken huh. At any rate, this is chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Tender and juicy with crispy skin. I didn't have a lime so I used an orange. Also plugged the top with a slice of orange. I was actually able to carve the bird right off the can. Very moist! I will be making this often and trying others suggested variations. This technique is definatly the way to cook a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I've done many beer can chickens on the Weber but never thought about doing it in the oven! Upped the oven temp to 400 and used a Penzey's spice mix - Turkish - it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I give this recipe 3 stars only because it wasn't outstanding. The chicken was very moist, but a whole baked chicken always comes out moist. No one could detect any lime flavoring. It was simply good, moist chicken...period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes to make during the summer. My oldest gets a real kick out of helping his Dad BBQ a chicken on top of a beer can. I throw on some foil covered onions (with butter and a beef bouillion cube) to serve with it. It's like eatin' all high class, only you aren't. TIP: I add rosemary and garlic to the beer can before adding the chicken. Makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
One word: amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Fantastic!!! We usualy do (Beer In The Rear) chicken on the barbee. Never tried it with lime. We drink 1/2 of the beer then add our spices to the can, rub the chicken with more spices. Then put the bird on the can. Then stuff a piece of onion in the neck hole to keep the steam in the bird. cook for 2 hrs. or till temp is 190 deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This a family favorite..I usually use a can of gingerale instead of beer which complments the lime flavor incredibly and I always make 2 chickens so we have leftovers over the next few days. I also love to use a yummy Montreal Steak spice rub on the chicken after I squeeze the lime juice on. We like the skin to be extra savory and a little crispy. The drippings from the chicken with the lime juice, the spice rub, and steamed gingerale makes the most amazing flavorful gravy that goes great with garlic mashed potatoes. I just add a little flour to the drippings about a 1/4 c. (if there's not quite enough drippings I just add a little oil so there's something for the flour to absorb) and then add about 1/2 a liter of chicken stock...mmmm yummy!! The best chicken dinner ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
AMAZING!!! No matter what seasonings you use, the beer and lime are awsome complements to it. No need to carve the bird, the chicken literally falls apart. This is a family favorite, even to those who don't like lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States