Beer Roasted Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
One of my Husband's favorites! Awesome comfort food and makes the house smell warm and cozy! Kind of fattening so I only make it when we really want a hearty, comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe, but am only giving it three stars because had to add seasoning. Going on other reviews that stated it's blandness, I decided to add a rub of 1 T. chili powder, 1 t. cumin, 1/2 t. of turmric...made into thick paste with lime juice and a wee bit of olive oil....rubbed on chicken about 6 hours before baking. Used Bud with lime, thought that might boost up the lime flavor, sadly can't say it did, and gave the bird a good hosing with lime juice and put the halves in the cavity. The flavors from the rub were great, but even with the Bud Lime beer, I couldn't taste the lime. The breast meat was so tender and juicy...yum. Next time I am going to do it the same, except maybe try adding some lime zest to the rub...see if that helps infusing the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
First off, I am learning to be a better cook. I have followed allrecipes before and they have been excellent until this... The temperatures weren't accurate, flavors bland. Unfortunately I am unable to improvise enough to compensate for the lack of instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
used Sprite. still yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
very easy...doesn't make what beer (i've tried several ones). I seasoned it with some cumin, basil, salt, & pepper. My husband who doesn't like white meat thought it was very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYGONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
used Corona for the beer as it was all I had on hand; I loved the image of the bird with a can shoved up its rear end, was wicked funny. Suprisingly moist, good flavors, didn't really brown much though...must work on that. The limes in the body cavity really add a bit of a kick to the chicken flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEHOWIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very Good! However, it took longer then expected. Very, very moist after it was cooked. Husband added his own spices, and turned out well seasoned. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Like some of the other reviewers I too added and changed the spices to my familys taste. Also did two chickens at the same time, useing the 20 min a pound rule. Not total weight of two chickens but the weight of the heavest bird. I also always use a meat thermometer. Don't skimp on the price get a good one. I'm not into the "high teck" kind just a really good themomerer. The best advise my grandmother ever gave me was to buy good equipment for the kitchen. Save up if you have to baby, but get the good stuff it's your family were talking about. Mine came out fall off the bone tender and juicy. I used extra stout dark beer from a bottle, washed out two soda cans and split the beer between the two followed the recipe adding a little more spice and lime juice and some garlic cloves to the beer. Thank you LAQUINNA for the oven recipe as I'm not much of a grillen gall.*** up date on this review still as wonderful as ever now if i don't have caned beer I use a tall mason or jelly glass jar and just pour the beer in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I followed the directions perfectly and my chicken didn't taste anymore like lime than it did when it started out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have tried this two ways and I find it better on the grill. I stuff the beer can with garlic and rosemary and then stuff either an onion or lemon in the neck of the chicken. I also wet down some wood chips and place those on top of the coals. Put one piece of foil under the chicken so not to burn the little wings. Spray the outside with either butter or oil about half way through grilling it. Takes about an hour for a 4 to 5lb chicken and once the internal temp. is about 165 to 170, take beer can out of it, lay it down in a pan, cover it with foil for about 15 Min and then cut away. Always juicy and taste great! Hint...don't leave the vents open on the charcoal grill...just let it smoke up...too much air will kill the coals and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelin72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mathews, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States