Beer Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was great! I improvised some things based on taste and ingredients on hand. I halved the recipe for one pizza. I made dough that rolled out to be about a 14 inch pie. I did not add the called for salt and I am glad; it was already very salty. I used fresh mushrooms, a large handful. Instead of using just tomato sauce I used one small can of tomato sauce (12 oz maybe?) and one half can of tomato paste (couple tablespoons) to thicken it up. Was sure to drain off the grease from the bacon before mixing the sauce in. I will for sure make this again, it was a big hit. NOTE: I think the nutritional value posted for this recipe is quite a bit off. I calculated this with my changes above (meaning NO pepperoni sausage and NO olive oil) and with my very standard 14 inch pizza crust recipe and it turned out to be about 400 calories and 19 grams of fat per serving/slice (total 8 servings per pie) and this is using a part skim mozzarella and trimmed bacon. I don't think the nutritional value on the site is considering the crust or is considering only a thin, store bought crust and not a nice thick dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
BEST PIZZA! Everyone went for thirds! I used Sam Adams beer, didn't use any meat or salt, added some pickled jalepeños and layered the cheese under the sauce. It had a nice kick to it. I plan on making it regularly- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Wow! Thank you for this recipe. Outstanding flavor. This was the first time I made pizza from scratch. I used this topping plus the dough recipe for the crust called "World's Easiest Bread Machine Puzza Dough." Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I really enjoyed this. The addition of the beer is a really nice touch. With most homemade sauce recipes I find that they are too sweet for my tastes, this one was not overly sweet. It had a really nice balance. I did add a little more salt than the recipe called for just to suit my personal preference. This will be our go to sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
5 starts because it got an AWESOME from the 18 year old son! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was very unique. Instead of using canned mushrooms, I sliced up some baby port mushrooms. I used red bell pepper (it's what I had) and used Abita turbodog beer - it gave the sauce an interesting flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I went with Pattycakes suggestion and used some Italian sausage and then put my pepperoni on top. I added some black olives too but just because I love them and feel they make every pizza better. My sauce ended up a bit runny BUT that was probably due to the extra grease I added. This was my first time to make a pizza from scratch and I was thrilled with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was really good and fun to make! I only suggest that you use a really good crust. Everything was awesome except the crust I selected. The sauce was not watery either. It was a tad salty but not too bad... so if you are sensitive to salt, I'd skip adding it to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Larson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Oooh this was SO good. Our Old Chicago restaurant closed down...but this pizza tastes like it's back in business! I used pizza crust packets and they best fit in a 9" round cake pan each. I let the dough rest in the middle of the pan and then pressed the dough out and up the sides of the pan for a deep dish pizza. Our filling was minus the onions & peppers and plus black olives. It was still amazing! I used Bud Light Golden Wheat beer - wonderful! The cheese got REALLY brown...probably because the toppings were underneath instead of on top. I had pineapple pieces on one top of pizza and that cheese did not get as brown. Next time I will put the cheese on for the last 5-10 minutes. I'm eating the leftovers for lunch today and I can hardly wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickysmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This sauce was Super Good! Easy and quick. I used some Italian sausage I had in the freezer instead of the pepperoni, I put those on top. This recipe is a bit deceiving, It is actually only the sauce. The name implies that it IS the pizza. I found lil 7oz bottles of Corona's in a six pack, soo cute! I used one and forgot to get the green peppers. I used the spices, onion, beer,sausage. Sauteed it all together and WA LA!! SAUCE FOR A GREAT PIZZA!! Thank You I will make this again:0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States