Beer Glazed Brats and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I made this exactly as written and it was way too sweet. It may have been my fault however, for using a porter beer. It was delicious beer, but NOT in this dish. I'd probably cut out the sugar altogether if I made this again. Sauerkraut has a good flavor typically, but this recipe it's the sugar and porter beer destroyed that :/ Maybe I'll try it again one day. Oh, and I served it on toasted potato rolls, but they just turned to a soggy mess after the sauerkraut was added to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Neal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I just use the beer, black pepper, brown sugar (slightly more than called for), dill weed, brats and kraut. I throw in a couple cloves of minced garlic. Love these with cheddar, diced onions and mustard. I used Mikey's Malt Liquor for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I also omitted the caraway seed, but included everything else. Used Black and Tan beer, good flavor, great leftovers. Way better the 2nd time around. I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The brats were good but the sauce was just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susghost017
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Left out the celery seed and fennel seeds because my husband has problems with seed digestion. I added 1/4 cup fresh apple cider. The recipe was a hit! Definitely will make again. I recommend serving with either spatzle or mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Just made this recipe for an Oktoberfest party and it was marvelous. I browned the brats first as people recommended and left out the caraway seeds because I didn't have any. I cooked the brats the day before, slightly underdone. I let them rest in the refrigerator overnight in the liquid. I am glad I did this because they were covered with fat. I skimmed off the fat; cooked the room temperature brats for another 30 minutes(more if you just removed them from the refrigerator) in the liquid. Removed the brats onto a warmed serving dish; put the liquid in a gravy boat; wow, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralyn Stransky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Simple and awesome. Hands down best sauerkraut I've ever had/made. The brats were great too. Followed the instructions exactly and it came out terrific - served with homemade pretzels (Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels also on All Recipes) and it made for a great casual dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
meh ok flavor nothing really special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States