Beer Glazed Brats and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I did slightly brown the brats (for appearance sake) before simmering in the beer mixture. This was pretty good, but in the future, I would reduce the brown sugar to 1 tsp and maybe even throw the brats on the grill briefly to get some grill marks on them. In my opinion, the sauerkraut will yield 4 servings, not 6, particularly if you serve the brat on the top of it. Certainly was quick to make, and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Kevin G.
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
What an amazing recipe! I had everything I needed for beer brats but the buns, so I decided to make a casserole of sorts. The beer glaze is fabulous. I, like the author, was always looking for beer brats with more of a beer flavor, and this is definitely it! The only changes I made was omitting the onion powder for grilled onions and browning the brats for a few minutes. I also transferred everything to a foil pan and baked it for 10-15 mins. at 350 degrees to let the flavors meld a little. Served it with a little jalapeno mustard on the side and it was a huge hit with the guys that came over for football. Will file this one away for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a hit with my guests, but I did make a couple of changes to it, which is why I felt it deserving of 4 rather than 5 stars. I skipped the brown sugar altogether as others had suggested, omitted the caraway seeds since I had none and in step #3, I added a big healthy squeeze of spicy brown mustard. Also, use a hearty beer, not a light beer, and you should let it sit open for awhile before cooking so it gets flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Terrific recipe. I made this recipe for a dinner party and all of my guests loved it!! I did make some changes to the recipe since I had to make it to serve 20 people. First, I did not find caraway seeds at the grocery store but the flavor turned out amazing without it. I also just browned the brats on a large skillet and transferred them to a baking dish with the beer sauce and baked them. In another baking dish, I added 2 large ladles of the beer sauce and the sauerkraut and baked it for 10 minutes. I just served the sauerkraut and brats together. The sauce was not thick like a syrup but it had a great consistency and it was delicious. Everyone raved about it and wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I followed recipe except I did not crush the caraway seed and celery seed. This was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
found this recipe on Pintrest as my husband wanted brats and kraut for father's day. based on other reviews, browned them first, used real onion other than powder. No one here likes caraway, so left that out, but brats and kraut were so flavorful! Paired with my grandmother's German potato salad recipe and supper was a WINNER!!!! This recipe.....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My family loved this!!! Very good- so easy to make!! I used exact recipe, no changes!! Will make this again very soon!! I did brown the brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Just made this recipe for an Oktoberfest party and it was marvelous. I browned the brats first as people recommended and left out the caraway seeds because I didn't have any. I cooked the brats the day before, slightly underdone. I let them rest in the refrigerator overnight in the liquid. I am glad I did this because they were covered with fat. I skimmed off the fat; cooked the room temperature brats for another 30 minutes(more if you just removed them from the refrigerator) in the liquid. Removed the brats onto a warmed serving dish; put the liquid in a gravy boat; wow, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralyn Stransky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States