Beer Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Completely agree with KimM's recommendation... I also find it helpful to use the beer at room temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Try this instead: 2 pkgs cream cheese (1/3 less fat is great), 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, 1 pkg Ranch Dressing Mix, 3 stalks of chopped green onions and only 1/2 of a beer. Mix with a handheld mixer and chill for 2 hours in refrigerator. I promise you that this dip is awesome and I'm required to bring it to all parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Its awesome. My advice, make it ahead of time and let it sit in the fridge for at least an hour after you make it. It is very salty btw, for anyone who's watching sodium intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is really good, but I changed it a little bit. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, half of the ranch powder and double the amount of beer. I used Miller 64 to try to cut out a few more calories. It has to sit out for a while to be soft enough to dip things in. I used "Everything" Pretzel crackers. It was great, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i had to tweak this recipe a bit to suit my style, but it turned out fanTAStic! i used only half a can of beer (the secret is to add and mix the beer slowly, a little at a time until you reach the desired taste and consistency), and added a large handful of shredded cheese, as well as some chopped green onions. i agree to also let it chill for at least an hour because the beer makes it pretty runny, but firms up quickly in the fridge. i was kind of leery at first, but one taste changed my mind. this was the hit of our UFC 100 gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I followed the other reviewers advice and added shredded cheese and green onions. I made this again for a St. Patrick's party and used Dubliner cheese and Guiness. I took it a step further and heated everything through in a crock pot on low. It was a good warm dip with beer bread. The flavors are strong, but everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I also mix in about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and green onions and then top the dip with some of the green onions for a nice finish- I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Loved this recipe! I did take other users' advice and added 3 green onions, some garlic (to taste) and 1/2 a bottle of beer (6 oz). I also used a stronger pale ale like Sierra Nevada, gives a great kick! I used Hoegaarden beer and everyone loved it too.. I had 3 recipe requets the first time out. This is a keeper and will be at many more parties with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cem420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was actually quite good. Perhaps the previous reviewer used only 1 package of cream cheese instead of 2? I did not find it too liquidy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I thought it was good, it was a little runny next time i won't use a whole beer , I also added cheese and it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States