Beer Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have made this and it is always requested. I actually got the recipe from a tavern that serves food and this is always on their salad bar served with crackers and bread. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tndrhrt64

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This one was okay for us. Pretty salty. Scaled it back to 12 servings- used a bit less than half a beer. It did need something (wish I had a green onion) so I added a handful of shredded cheddar and a sprinkling of red Thai rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I followed the other reviewers advice and added shredded cheese and green onions. I made this again for a St. Patrick's party and used Dubliner cheese and Guiness. I took it a step further and heated everything through in a crock pot on low. It was a good warm dip with beer bread. The flavors are strong, but everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i had to tweak this recipe a bit to suit my style, but it turned out fanTAStic! i used only half a can of beer (the secret is to add and mix the beer slowly, a little at a time until you reach the desired taste and consistency), and added a large handful of shredded cheese, as well as some chopped green onions. i agree to also let it chill for at least an hour because the beer makes it pretty runny, but firms up quickly in the fridge. i was kind of leery at first, but one taste changed my mind. this was the hit of our UFC 100 gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
What a waste of beer! I had high hopes for this, but like another reviewer this came out like soup and it went right into the trash. A complete waste of ingredients. There was no way to save it. Absolutely awful - don't waste your time or money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Loved this recipe! I did take other users' advice and added 3 green onions, some garlic (to taste) and 1/2 a bottle of beer (6 oz). I also used a stronger pale ale like Sierra Nevada, gives a great kick! I used Hoegaarden beer and everyone loved it too.. I had 3 recipe requets the first time out. This is a keeper and will be at many more parties with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Miller Rowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is really good, but I changed it a little bit. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, half of the ranch powder and double the amount of beer. I used Miller 64 to try to cut out a few more calories. It has to sit out for a while to be soft enough to dip things in. I used "Everything" Pretzel crackers. It was great, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I also mix in about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and green onions and then top the dip with some of the green onions for a nice finish- I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Completely agree with KimM's recommendation... I also find it helpful to use the beer at room temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Try this instead: 2 pkgs cream cheese (1/3 less fat is great), 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, 1 pkg Ranch Dressing Mix, 3 stalks of chopped green onions and only 1/2 of a beer. Mix with a handheld mixer and chill for 2 hours in refrigerator. I promise you that this dip is awesome and I'm required to bring it to all parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States