Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
These are DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made these with my brother's girlfriend, and we did alter the recipe, using 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour; we also used a little less beer and added craisins to the mix and pecans to the top of each cookie. They were awesome, although more the consistency of muffins. My brother's girlfriend remembered the alterations and made beer muffins later and reported that they turned out better than the cookies. A suggestion for the beer to use: we used a Sam Adam's seasonal cranberry lambic ale. I'd also suggest a cherry wheat or other types of wheat beers to give these cookie-muffins a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I only made one change-- and that was to shorten the baking time, from 12-15 minutes to 8-10. I live at high altitude, though, and my oven is literally older than I am. These cookies came out soft, tasty, and delicious! Pecans work very well as a substitute nut for those who don't like walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These cookies make me so hoppy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't really like beer...so they left an aftertaste. However, my dad LOVED them (he likes beer and can't taste it). I was thinking about sending the mixture without the beer out as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! My great grandma used to make cake batter cookies when I was little and these totally remind me of them! Great taste, and everyone I have made them for has loved them! I am looking forward to experimenting with different beers and seasonings! Thank you Tina for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
A good starter recipe for sure, but needed a couple adjustments. Beer choice is probably the most important factor people are having trouble with- this works great with a dark heavy ale, but wont work that well with your average pilsner. When I was making this, I added an extra half cup of flour and a cup of oats to help with the texture. Also, I substitued white chocolate chips for the walnuts, since I didnt have any on hand. It ended up being a very savory, fluffy cookie. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chloeliz
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These cookies are fantastic!! I made them with Sam Adams Winter Lager. I added just under 1 and 1/4 cups, just until the dough was moist. I also added some nutmeg, oats, and chocolate chips. The are fluffy, kind of like muffin tops. So good! I will definitely be making these again. Next time I'm going to try Guinness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hops
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I read all the reviews and am now baking. I used: 1 cup bread flour 1 cup whole wheat flour 1/2 tsp baking soda 1/2 cup brown sugar 1 TBS of regular sugar 1 TBS cinnamon 3/4 Cup of butter (more than the recipe) 1/2 an egg 1 1/4 cup of Sierra Nevada Brown Ale some dried cranberries some chocolate chips I mixed it up and then added a a bit more four to get to Toll House cookie texture. I then made Table Spoon size domes on a cookie sheet and started baking at 350ºF at sea level. I am now waiting...... ..........at 10 minutes I took them out they grew a bit but did not spread and flatten out. After testing the first batch I cooked the next batch for about the same time 11 minutes. I think they turned out okay. A puffy, good, beer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I changed this recipe quite a bit and fooled around as I made it. Here's what i did and they came out pretty good. 1) The beer I used was a Goat peanut butter and chocolate porter. It's really disgusting just drinking it, but we saved it for something like this. Instead of the 1 1/4 c. I only used 2/3 a cup (which was all I had left of the porter. We kept trying to get other family members to drink it, but everyone agreed it was nasty). 2) I added 1/2 cup of Blackstrap Molasses to it along with the brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract, 1 c. rolled oats, 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour, 1 tsp extra of the cinnamon, and pecans instead of walnuts. With those changes, the cookies came out really dark, but they're quite delicious. The salt, however, we found to be absolutely necessary. Without it, the cookies don't really have any strong flavors. But the salt seriously brings out the flavors of the porter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States