Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
you have got to be kidding!! i did not add all of the beer and it was still to thin. even adding more flour it was not cookie dough! i did get it like cake batter and added the nuts in. once i baked it i topped it with a cream cheese icing. it was okay, but nothing i ever wish to try again. maybe i should have had a beer or two first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I added nutmeg and coarsely chopped dark chocolate and was glad I did. The taste of these probably varies considerably depending on the beer you use. I used Smithwick's. I recommend letting the beer settle before you pour it in for accuracy (use a pyrex). The dough tastes AWFUL but the cookies are good. Don't be scared. They are cake-like and soft when they're done. Mine baked perfectly in 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Based on the reviews for these, I didn't have very high hopes for these, but I was curious. I used 1 cup of Newcastle, and I added some raisins and a bit of oats to bulk them up a little. I also added an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and a little vanilla, but I guess it wasn't enough to make a difference. These were really easy to make, and I like that they didn't have eggs, white sugar, or an outrageous amount of butter. They are sooooo good hot out of the oven!! I love the texture, its very soft and kind of spongy! I can tell the flavor will be a little bland when they cool, though. Next time I will add some chocolate chips (I think white choc would be great in these) or more raisins, and maybe some chopped walnuts or macadamias. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Bf liked these. I added craisins per another reviewer and meant to put in ww flour as well as wheat, but I forgot to do so. I think they were still a bit bland--needs maybe some nutmeg and that ww flour? And chocolate chips or white chocolate chips would make it sweeter. This might even be a cookie that could do well with butterscotch chips, which can be almost sickeningly sweet. Luckily, the recipe doesn't make too many cookies, so it's easy to experiment. I didn't measure the beer; just put in enough until it was a moist cookie type dough. Baked for 13 min in the oven and they were still soft. They don't spread very much and are a not so sweet, cake like cookie. Not too bad; may make again since we seem to be the house that ends up with all this beer from parties, and bf and I don't really drink it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These were pretty good. I only used 3/4 cup of beer so that it would be more of a dough consistency. I also added chocolate chips, which made them much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leenica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made these with my brother's girlfriend, and we did alter the recipe, using 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour; we also used a little less beer and added craisins to the mix and pecans to the top of each cookie. They were awesome, although more the consistency of muffins. My brother's girlfriend remembered the alterations and made beer muffins later and reported that they turned out better than the cookies. A suggestion for the beer to use: we used a Sam Adam's seasonal cranberry lambic ale. I'd also suggest a cherry wheat or other types of wheat beers to give these cookie-muffins a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Fun to experiment with. I agree with the reviews that the all purpose flour makes the dough too thin. By happy accident, I'd substituted 1/2 cup of wheat flour, since I'd run out of all purpose -- what a difference. I used a microbrew and folded in dried cranberries for more flavor (per another suggestion posted). This is a savory cookie if the recipe is followed, not sweet. However, I've done a variation where I used the "sweeter" Guinness stout and folded in chocolate chips. I think using the basic recipe, with 1 1/2 cups all purpose and 1/2 cup wheat flour, along with a beer and a folded confection or dried fruit could make this fun (pick a beer, like Cherry wheat and fold in dried cherries, maybe, etc). Also, for beer drinkers, this cookie is not too sweet (depending on what you add) and is a change from chips, pretzels, etc. Doesn't look, like the basic all purpose flour, walnuts (and I'm guessing people pickd the macrobrew pilsner lagers as the beer) is all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Well, I made a slight change in this recipe: I used root beer in place of beer, and only used one cup. And it turned out pretty good. The dough was more like a batter, but the cookies still turned out ok. They were just soft cookies as opposed to the hard ones that people might have expected. My family liked them anyway. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Bland. If you spread icing or Nutella on top of the cookies, they are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
The amount of flour in this recipe needs to be adjusted to 3 1/2 cups, at the very least (I would recommend 4 cups flour). The recipe, as is, does not yeild a usable dough at all... more like a thin, watery batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States