Beer Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I thought this came out pretty bland and I used a fairly dark beer. I had to add so many seasonings just to try and salvage dinner. I agree The pork chops were tender but unfortunately they were also flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This one didn't come out well for me. The only substitution I made was using chicken broth instead of bouillon( I haven't found bouillon without MSG and I 'm allergic to MSG).That switch is likely to have accounted for the tastlessness. However, that substitution wouldn't explain why the chops were dry. It was wierd there was alot of liquid yet the chops were dry....very tender though.The crock pot makes all meat tender.So no big surprise there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These were some of the most tender pork chops I've ever made, and they were easy and flavorful. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKPARSONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
YUMMY!!! Quick and easy great for busy days. Wonderfully with butter noodles and carrots. My family loved it. Yeah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I tried this recipe in spite of all the bad reviews. My husband is a brewmaster and takes his beer very seriously so I had to give it a try! I added some seasonings to mine to give it some flavor, and I also made 4 chops, as 2 would not feed our family of 6. They were awesome! I went to spear them with a fork to put them on a serving plate, and the meat was just falling apart, it was so tender. Only 1 of our 4 children didn't like them, and my husband and I loved them. I made the recipe as written but added onion salt, curry powder and dried thyme leaves to the meat. Also I sliced the onions as opposed to chopping, for texture. I served the meat with a mixture of snap peas, baby carrots and white corn, and potato wedges with dill weed, salt and butter. It was a great meal to come home to, and I was amazed to see my 2-year old have 3 helpings of this dish. The next time I make this I will experiment with different kinds of beer. I used Icehouse but would like to try a Guiness the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Meat was very tender but there was no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
The chops turned our very tender as they would with most recipes in the crock pot, but the beer flavor over-powered the dish. Unless you are fond of HOT BEER, I would not recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
very quick and easy tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This recipe is good even for the semi beer lovers like me. It's not a strong beer taste. I have also added garlic to mine and that adds a little different flavor to it. Have had this several times and it is still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This is one of the best pork chop meals I have had! Even my picky, picky kids (husband included) loved it! Greatest recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States